Boyle, Sedaris, and Roswell

Captain’s Log   5,881

The gardeners are here.  My whole yard smells like a farm now.  I love it.  Nothing like freshly-mowed grass to bring back memories of growing up in Iowa.  Sweet!  Victorino and his guys are so very sweet.  I got lucky.  The last guy who gardened here was a crack head.  I didn’t own the place then and the hiring was not up to me.  But he was a piece of work.  He zinged a huge rock into the guest room window when he was mowing.  He denied it.  He also denied chopping the roses down so far he killed at least four of them.  

The book club discussion on Sunday was actually a discussion.  That was different for us.  We don’t usually dig that far into a book.  

san miguel

 

The author’s name should be Tedious Boyle

I was not impressed with the book, but most everyone loved it.  It was a book about San Miguel island that is part of the Channel Islands off the coast of Santa Barbara.  The first 1/3 of the book was about a woman isolated there with her weird husband and her bratty daughter.  It rained a lot, things rotted away, and she coughed up a lot of blood.  Over and over again.  And then, she died.  Weird husband got harsh with the bratty daughter who ran away from home and became an actress.   There was a brief moment when the hired man kissed the hoochie of the bratty daughter, but it was only a paragraph or two.  

Then, the next family came along.  Nobody coughed up blood but there was still a lot of rain.  And sheep.  Sheep.  Eating sheep.  Shearing sheep.  Raining.

Then along came the third family.  Raining.  Sheep.  More raining.

It was so tedious!  One of the clubbers explained that the book was tedious to give us a feeling for what it was like to live a tedious life on the island.   I got that.  But I didn’t want it.  I wanted at least ONE person to fall off a cliff or something.  If I want to experience boredom like that, I can watch golf on TV.

I get to pick next month and this is it.  This has to be the funniest book I have ever read in my life!  The author makes David Sedaris look like he is in kindergarten! 

lets pretend

 

A lot funnier than sheep on an island and people coughing up blood

When I mentioned David Sedaris, one of the clubbers said, “Oh, he isn’t funny at all.  I don’t like him.  I don’t think I will like this book.  It doesn’t have a plot either.  Not like the wonderful book we just read.”  I guess if you think coughing up blood in the rain and eating lamb is a great plot line…………………

david sedaris 2

David Sedaris…….NPR humorist who loves to pick up trash and clean his bathroom

David Sedaris is one of my heroes!   I was dashed against the rocks when I heard such harsh words spoken about him!  Maybe I should go live on San Miguel and wait for the rain to drive me insane!

Actually, the island has been taken over by the government now.  It’s protected.  Nobody lives there anymore.  The sheep over-grazed it and all that jazz.  You need a permit to visit.   As intriguing as that sounds, I have no interest in going there.  I would rather go to Roswell.

I was in Roswell in 2008.  It’s a trip!

rubber mummies

The Roswell UFO Museum in Roswell, New Mexico.  Complete with a rubber alien on a stretcher.  Well worth the drive!

8 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

8 responses to “Boyle, Sedaris, and Roswell

  1. poundheadhere

    The island story sounds like one I’d use in lieu of a sleeping pill, provided I could even make it past the first chapter.

  2. Even if they don’t like it…you did….

  3. Susanna

    “I got that. I didn’t want that.” I love how you write. The title of your book sounds more interesting than the entire San Miguel book. I read too much of a very dreary autobiography about a farming family out nowhere. I was terribly depressing to read this dull, repetitious, sad story. Thank God it wasn’t a book club book. I didn’t finish it; I symbolically tossed it in the trash and ate some chocolate as the book had flat lined my dopamine and serotonin.

  4. bholles

    I think your club will like the book.

Leave a Reply

