Saying Farewell

Captain’s Log   5,873

I went to a memorial service for an old friend yesterday and delivered one of three eulogies.  What an honor it is to be part of someone’s last celebration.  She was there in her little box on the podium.   Not sure what the family plans to do with her ashes, but my guess is they will scatter them at sea off the coast of Mexico.  It was her favorite place.

Going to services like this always gives me pause to reflect on the impact we have on each other’s lives.  It also drives home the message that we really aren’t around for very long.  It’s important to make each moment count.  It’s important to reach out beyond ourselves and stop being selfish and self-centered.   As difficult as these moments are, they are also treasures.

So I release Little Miss Kaye, 91 years old, dancer, teacher, mother, sister, grandmother, and friend.  We had a great run of friendship together for almost 23 years.  We had good times and not so good times.  That’s the way life works.  She will be missed.

And yesterday, I got word that another friend of the family has passed away.  That service is tomorrow.  Once again, I find myself blessed to be in attendance.  We live in community, and a community says goodbye.  

So much to think about right now.

15 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

15 responses to “Saying Farewell

  1. poundheadhere

    I’m sorry for your loss, belated as I may be. I hope you and the respective families find peace.

  2. Everything you mentioned is so true. I have tried to convince people that this is their only life and it is going fast. They should stop holding on to grudges that can’t be fixed and try to find joy together again. But most of them don’t listen….

  3. Patty O'

    So sorry for your loss…

  4. Yes, and there seem to be more. I agree with Mia. You were blessed to have these two friends. Dinner?

  5. Valerie

    “We live in community, and a community says goodbye.” Profoundly beautiful in its simplicity.

  6. I’m sorry you have lost friends. What else can I say?

    Does it seem to you that there are more than usual this year?

  7. bholles

    Tough week.

  8. Penny Tushingham

    that’s the sad part of getting older….we loose more friends each and every day!

    Pen Pen

Leave a Reply

