Dirty Martini Virgin No More

Captain’s Log   5,867

I had my first martinis last night.  The jury is still out.  I’m not sure I see the thrill in drinking gin with olive juice and a splash of vermouth.  What is vermouth?  Fortified wine?  What does that mean?  I am such a newbie to the martini world.  The whole thing tasted like salty gin.  I think I am way too much of a peasant to enjoy something this exotic.  Plus, I didn’t have the right kind of glasses, so we used juice glasses.   Living the high life at Casa de Pirate!

martini party

Glimpse of a dirty olive in the glass at the bottom of the photo.  Dirty, dirty olive!

Now, the companionship that went along with the martinis could not be beat!  Old friends came over for picnic fare, and we had a wonderful time!  We had veggie cheese burgers, sweet corn, pea and macaroni salad, veggie baked beans, chips, fresh cherries, and cheesecake.  Plus the dirty martinis and about a gallon of water.  Roll me out the door, Martha!

Febreze Lady did not squirt anything over the fence – even though we got quite loud and boisterous.  That’s a good sign.  That’s also a really random statement taken out of context.

 

15 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

15 responses to “Dirty Martini Virgin No More

  1. poundheadhere

    I could see using olive juice in cooking, especially in a salad – but drink it? No thanks! Glad you enjoyed the company, though. Good friends are the best, healthiest, most wonderful celebrants there are.

  2. Vermouth is just a wine. Me, I used to drink scotch or bourbon.

  3. Valerie

    Now, if you had made Pomegranate Martinis – THAT
    would have been a totally awesome thing!!!

  4. ‘Twas the olive juice did you in. No matter how much you like the stuff straight, it doesn’t do anything but turn everything you add it to salty. Don’t know if you noticed. Everything else sounded great though. Probably because you didn’t add olive juice to them. (Did you…?)

  5. Sounds as if there was too much olive juice, the stuff I carefully drain out whenever I use olives. Obviously you all ha a good time anyhow.

  6. Everything sounded great except for the Martini. Not something I’d enjoy at all.

Leave a Reply

