Life is a Circle

Captain’s Log   5,853

My older friend who was extremely ill has passed away.  She was 91 and lived a good long life.  I have known her for 23 years.  When she was in her late 70’s, she choreographed one of my shows.  Spunky and resilient to the very end.  She was not the easiest person to get along with, but she certainly made an impact everywhere she went.  Rest in peace, Little Miss Kaye.  Her services will be sometime in July, and I am sure the church will be packed.  She was that beloved.

____________________________

It seems like the orioles have had a brood of chicks and they are staying around for awhile.  The young ones are learning to fly and have smacked into my living room windows a time or two.  Hopefully, they will get the idea soon.

hooded_oriole_fe

Momma Oriole with honey bee (no, this is not my photo)

oriole

Dad Oriole on a palm frond (not my photo either)

I hope they hang around for awhile.  I fill up the hummingbird feeders for them every day.  If I remove one of the little plastic flower nibs, they can drink all they want.  I don’t mind.  Not one bit.  I want them to stay as long as they feel comfortable.

 

17 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

17 responses to “Life is a Circle

  1. Susanna

    How nice to mention our good friend Kaye. She was as you described, spunky and full of vim and vinegar. It will be great to see all her friends at the memorial. And the little birds just beginning. Lovely.

  2. Really wonderful stuff. We have unwanted parrots and crows.

  3. It sounds like your friend believed in living her life to the fullest, and sharing it with everyone around her, whether they were ready or not lol.

  4. Patty O'

    It is hard to say goodbye to a friend. Sorry for her loss but so glad you knew her…and she you!

  5. So lovely to have a very special friend but I am sorry she has passed. The orioles are beautiful and I bet they are loving the hummingbird nectar.

  6. joanie

    Wow! 91 years! Maybe the secret to longevity is spunkiness and resiliency. I’ll just bet she lived most of her life not paying too much attention to obsessive healthy eating, taking 49 pills every day just to stay alive and exercising until she dropped like our doctors today try to make us do. Am I wrong? I think a lot of it IS attitude. Sorry for your loss of a friend…. but glad for her that she lived a long, productive life.

  7. farmgirl

    I love how this post is about the cycle of life. Endings and beginnings. I am sorry at the loss of your friend. hugs.

  8. I’m so sorry about the loss of your friend. It seems to be a bad season. I’m glad you have good memories of her.

Leave a Reply

