Faker Pringles

Captain’s Log   5,845

Some American companies deserve a good spanking.

oreo 1

Really?

oreo 2

Gads!  People already have trouble pronouncing SHER-BET.  Let’s make it even weirder, shall we?

oreo 3

I’d like to Hawaiian punch them!

I am all about simple food.  Oreos are supposed to be Oreos.  My orange juice is not supposed to be laced with calcium.  My Special K is supposed to come in just one variety, not eight or nine.

But the real kicker is the Pringles company.  Check out their holiday offerings.

holiday-pringles

These are supposed to be fake potato chips, people!  Fake potato chips!  You can’t make them even more fake, fer crissakes!

I don’t understand American consumerism.  Even though my first real out-of-college job was working as a copywriter for an ad agency, I still don’t understand why people buy shit.

21 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

21 responses to “Faker Pringles

  1. poundheadhere

    Are you sure the Pringles stuff wasn’t somebody’s April Fools joke or something from The Onion? I can’t imagine ANYONE buying those flavors of faux potato chip.

  2. joanie

    Disgusting! Especially since these are obviously aimed at kids. As if they don’t have enough nutrition issues! I noticed on the bottom of the Hawaiian Punch Oreos it says “5 pieces of bubble gum!”. Does that mean the pink filling is actually bubble gum??? Gag me. Is this for real?

  3. Obviously sales are down or they wouldn’t be inventing useless crap like this. Did I say that?

  4. I agree….I get so confused with all the flavors of things that I might already be satisfied with. I actually tried those white chocolate peppermint Pringles…..ugh. But the worse thing I have tasted is the gingerbread M&Ms…I tried to give them to some children at Thanksgiving and even they wouldn’t touch them! LOL

  5. farmgirl

    oh. my. god.

  6. Patty O'

    Pringles suck.

  7. Penny Tushingham

    That’s why they are limited time because there are those in the food industry that know people aren’t going to buy this crap.

    Yucky!
    Pen Pen

  8. bholles

    I guess I should shop more so I see this stuff.

  9. I don’t understand it either. Especially since they are already (1) making something that doesn’t taste all that great and (2) they are adding flavors that don’t taste any better. Sure, I eat certain kinds of “junk” food, but my mother was always lecturing about empty calories. When you have a limited grocery budget and growing children, you feed them the best you can find, not the easiest.

    Incidentally, all of my kids ate vegetables without a whimper — and without pulverizing them into fruit juice. Have you ever seen some of these “home economists” who market this stuff? I have never seen a skinny one.

Leave a Reply

