Me Like Soda Bread

Captain’s Log   5,842

I had Irish soda bread for the first time yesterday!  I am hooked!  I need to learn how to make it myself.  It was beyond amazing!  It’s easy to make and lovely to behold.  What I really like is that you get to form the loaf with your hands and bake and plop it on a baking sheet.  I love free-form art like this.  It looks so peasant-ish.  Probably because it’s peasant food.

irish_soda_bread2

Amazingly good and simple

The older I get, the simpler I want my life to be.  I rather like that approach.  I am tired of high-maintenance processes and people.  I am tired of drama and fuss.  I love being quiet with my thoughts and actions.  I love getting lost in a book or just driving alone for hours.  The older I get, the less I need.  The older I get, the less I want.  I guess it’s good when your needs and wants get closer together.  That’s a sure-fire way to be happy.

Sometimes, it’s okay to walk away from something you want or desire because the emotional price is too high.  It makes our choices easier.  I have also learned it’s better to have nothing than have the wrong something.  When you have nothing, the world is completely and totally open to you.  When you have the wrong something, you have to undo and deconstruct first.  It’s like trying to paint your living room without removing the furniture.  It’s much better if the room is empty to start with.  

Gosh, the philosophy just rolls out this morning.  Must be the iced coffee I saved from yesterday.

20 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

20 responses to “Me Like Soda Bread

  1. Time to start baking

  2. I rarely use butter on anything, but I always use it on my Irish Soda Bread. That and a hefty mug of tea has helped me start many a day. Did yours have rye seeds and raisins or just plain?

  3. annanotbob

    You’re not wrong xxx

  4. Ter

    I have a great recipe that I use to make soda bread if you’re interested! It’s easy to make and goes with everything! Maybe I’ll make some, now that you’ve put the idea in my head 🙂

  5. poundheadhere

    The soda bread looks yummy! Simplicity is its own gift

  6. Looking and living with simple pleasures each day is key. I have learned that I don’t “need” everything I see. Good thing, too, because my cats love to help me get rid of stuff ~ Ta-Dah!. Guess I need to check out a recipe for soda bread and try it myself ~ except bread is my downfall along with other carbs.

  7. Patty O'

    Today’s message is both simple and profound. It has nothing to do with coffee, but everything to do with wisdom. Well done, Poolie! As for the soda bread – my daughter is a brilliant baker and bread is her favorite way of expressing joy. But you never know what she may sneak into it. The last load of soda bread she sent had both currants and Guinness in it. The effect was subtle but delicious. A slab of good soda bread is a whole meal! Gives insight into the saying “The Staff of Life”. Yum!!!

    • poolagirl

      Guiness?

    • Patty O'

      Yup. I was startled, too. But the Guinness imparts a slight sharpness that goes well with the currants. Her brioche is even better than her soda bread but best of all is the shiny golden braided Challah. She LOVED to bake. She does send goodies, alas, rarely but always happily received!

  8. farm girl

    I have been making and eating soda bread for years!! I love it too! Enjoy!! PS…it is great toasted!!

  9. Penny Tushingham

    I am with you 100%. I continue to do things around the house that makes it easier and try and stay aware from negative people.

    Bread looks yummy. Hope you master it by February!

    Pen pen

Leave a Reply

