Geo Day With Hayseek

Captain’s Log   5,818

It was a glorious day for geocaching yesterday!  My young friend Jessika (geo-handle is Hayseek) and I hit the treasure hunting yesterday morning and quite a time of it.  We went to Spanish Landing where the San Diego Maritime Museum is building a replica of Juan Cabrillo’s ship, the San Salvador.  They are building it to perfect specs using traditional materials.  They are using wooden pegs instead of nails, etc.  They even have a steam area for bending wood.  It was amazing.

san salvador

Pretty impressive

Naturally, before Cabrillo arrived, there wasn’t anything here.  He “discovered” it like all the other explorers “discovered” distant lands and people.  But enough of that.

It was windy and cool.  A perfect day to crawl around on the riprap and look for Tupperware.

geo in the wind

We did not find a cache here but we got lots of stickers in our hands.

We ended our day at a local airfield where we enjoyed Mexican food at the restaurant and watched the planes land and take off.  The most exciting moment was when two planes took off at the same time.  Ooops!  

casa machado

Not much of a building but the restaurant is quite nice.

I need to get out more and have good adventures like this.  It was a lovely day.  I almost forgot!  We also stopped at the new downtown library.  Oh my!

central library

Wow!  Nine floors!  Two floors are a charter school.  Can you imagine?  I was so excited I renewed my library card!

19 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

19 responses to “Geo Day With Hayseek

  1. jane

    One of the blacksmiths working on the San Salvadore is a Geocacher. James’ caching name is Let’s Look over Theyer.

  2. susanna

    What wonderful ideas you are giving me for fun. It’s a joy to hear about your play days.

  3. I’m glad you and Hayseek enjoyed yourselves. I’ve had to face the fact that I cannot geocache. It’s not possible for me to crawl into the various nooks, crannies and crevasses any more. But I can still enjoy your adventures vicariously through your blog!

  4. Sounds perfect. I agree with l’empress….I think libraries are putting too much money into the media instead of regular books….but then at least people are reading..something…even if it is just directions on how to play a game.

  5. Valerie

    Sounds like a perfect day!

  6. maryz

    Hooray for the new library!

  7. annanotbob

    My nephew is in San Diego today – just sent him link to museum, but don’t know what his plans are. xx

  8. annanotbob

    OK, that’s going to the top of my to do list – get a grip on the technology and learn how to geocache. Thank you. and so glad you had such a good day! xxx

  9. You found a library! A new one, not connected to a college or a former President. That is exciting.

    (Around here, the idiot running the public library is only interested in lending media. She’s got the book business down to about 40 per cent.)

  10. bholles

    Glad you had fun.

Leave a Reply

