Head. Ache. 101

Captain’s Log   5,813

I woke up with a blinding headache.  After drinking an entire pot of coffee, most of the nastiness has abated.  I would prefer to treat my headaches with coffee rather than drugs.  Strong coffee, some determined shoulder rolling, a few good neck poppings, and soft music on the stereo.  I know most of my headaches are caused by stress.  I am one of those people who can drink coffee at night and sleep like a baby.  Caffeine does not keep me awake.

bromo

Do they still sell this stuff?

bromo 3

Who knew?  And it doesn’t contain aspirin.  I should try this.  NOT!

It’s raining here.  Feels nice.  Sounds even nicer bouncing off the skylights.  I’m not a true fan of skylights but they do make the rain sound nice.  They also make my house hotter than Hades in the summer.  I need to figure out something to block them on hot days.

Working on the car symphony today!  YAY!  I need to stay motivated and this is the key.

13 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

13 responses to “Head. Ache. 101

  1. poundheadhere

    I hope you feel better, whatever your remedy

  2. Bromo Seltzer…The product took its name from a component of the original formula, sodium bromide; it contained 3.2 mEq/teaspoon of this active ingredient. Bromides are a class of tranquilizers that were withdrawn from the American market in 1975 due to their toxicity. Their sedative effect probably accounted for Bromo-Seltzer’s popularity as a hangover remedy. Early formulas also used acetanilide as the analgesic, a known poisonous substance.

    Hope your headache is long gone.

  3. ned

    Wifey eats a few feverfew leaves for bad headaches and swears by them.

  4. Hope the headache is gone for good. I don’t drink coffee or drink anything with caffeine so I usually have to rely on OTC and hope for the best. Sometimes I squirt saline into my nose just in case it is sinus pressure.

  5. Sorry about the headache; I agree that caffeine is often the best remedy, although my headaches are more often allergy than stress. Lots of coffee — maybe an analgesic — and positioning seem to do the trick.

  6. Patty O'

    Sorry about the headache. Mine are usually weather-related, but occur BEFORE the actual change occurs, like forewarning. I am evidently hooked into the barometer. But coffee as a remedy? Sorry, that is downright odd. Good luck with the symphony project today. Work on something SOFT and not too LOUD!

Leave a Reply

