Magical Garden Times

Captain’s Log   5,812

The downside to all this juicing is……everything digests within seconds.  I guess that could be considered a blessing if you are busy.  Drink the juice, head off to the restroom, wait 10 seconds, have your moment, and you are good to start your day.  It’s more instantly rewarding than Twitter.  Hmmmmm…..what word rhymes with “twitter” that might be applied here?

A fellow from France visited my site yesterday and left me some interesting comments.  The one that still puzzles me is that my writing is monotonous…..in a good way.  I have yet to figure that one out.  I know I am not enormously interesting, but monotonous?  I have been called a lot of things, so I guess this shouldn’t surprise me.  I am still trying to figure out how that can be a good thing.

My garden is truly amazing.  There are two things blooming together than create enough scent to make me delirious!

One is a hanging basket of sweet alyssum that Anneke gave me when she was here in January.  It went through a period of shock and has recovered nicely.

sweet

So dainty and so sweet!

The lemon tree is also bursting with new flowers.  It’s going to be another amazing crop in 3-4 months.  If Dangerspouse is nice, I might send him another box.  Time will tell.

buzz

The bees are busy.  Can you spot the honey bee’s little butt as he burrows into the flower?  I love bees.

The hummingbirds are all over the place too.  One of the little fellows actually buzzed me this morning as I was filling the feeders.  This summer, I am going to see if they will drink nectar from a small red cup I hold in my hand.  That would be ever so cool!

wee willy 3

And some wee willies just because I think they are magic

14 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

14 responses to “Magical Garden Times

  1. poundheadhere

    I wonder if the Frenchman was attempting to comment on how you take the ordinary and make it extraordinary. You do have a talent in that department!

  2. Patty O'

    I needed those beautiful flowers today. Thank you.

  3. Remember, the French love Proust. The first 30 pages of “Remember of Things Past” was his description of how he falls asleep. And there were 6 MORE VOLUMES – VOLUMES! – AFTER THAT.

    When you’re weaned on a your cultural literary identity like that, “monotonous” is the ne plus ultra. As they say. Or rather, c’est.

    😉

  4. annanotbob

    Wow! I grow alyssum but it never gets anything like that! Your garden pictures are so lovely xxx

  5. I think the Frenchman was confused about the meaning of monotonous also. I’m sure the hummers will be drinking out of your hand or the red cup before summer. I can only imagine how wonderful the scent of those flowers must be. I will miss my french lilac bushes at the big house this spring. And I am able to open up my windows today! The cats are delirious with joy!

  6. Sitter? A sitter who becomes fitter? Don’t get me going there. 😎
    Do you think the person from France is confused about the meaning of the word monotonous? That’s something you are not. You are, on the other hand, constantly surprising. I wish you a hummingbird in your hand.

Leave a Reply

