It Took a Village

Captain’s Log   5,810

I wanted to come home last night and just read.  I was in a meeting until almost 7:45 and was so ready to settle down with my favorite characters from the 5th Game of Thrones book.  But plans took a different turn and I ended up going over to Extraordinary Desserts with a young man who is on my production team for a large museum project.  I first met him when he was about 11 years old and running around San Diego Junior Theatre.  He’s a man now.  A very fine and wonderful man.  Where did the time go?

Extraordinary-Desserts-1

We ate something similar to this.  As I get older, I find myself less and less capable of eating stuff so rich and sweet.  I managed to eat about half and then settled back with a cup of excellent strong coffee with cream.

He insisted on buying.  That was nice.  These desserts cost about $9 apiece and the coffee is $2 (no refills).  We talked about his life and his family.  It was great to catch up.  We were there about two hours just loving every minute of our time.  He said he has always considered me an important part of the influential tribe of adults who helped raise him.  That was nice.  Very nice to hear.  For people who don’t understand, it really DOES take a village to raise a child.

eric

My “son” who took me out on a lovely coffee date.  He even acted as my “shield” when a guy and his wife walked in – two people I had no interest in talking to last night…..or ever again for that matter.   My “son” positioned himself so I could easily hide behind his head.  Crisis averted.  And we had quite a good laugh over that.

I came home and switched into jammies.  I grabbed a magazine and tried to read at least something, but I fell asleep.  It was a contented sleep knowing that I made a difference in this young man’s life.  It’s nice to hear that every now and then.

It’s my last day at the office before taking off for Los Angeles on Monday for a 5-day conference.  Rather looking forward to it even though the days will start at 7:00 AM and go until 9:00 PM.  There are field trips and dinners included every night.  Busy busy.

8 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

8 responses to “It Took a Village

  1. That’s wonderful Poolie! There’s no feeling like knowing you made a difference in someone’s life.

  2. Patty O'

    The dessert/coffee was lovely and the conference will be interesting and fun, but I really loved reading about your “bonus son” and how well he has turned out due to parenting from actual parents and loving adults. And he is grateful and wise enough to acknowledge the gifts he has received, which is GRAND. That’s the perfect “warm fuzzy”! Congratulations to both of you. Sniff…

  3. I so agree. It is very special when someone takes the time to tell you how important you are in their life. I have a few nieces and nephews, friends and family who have said that to me during the past year…and some told stories about Dean that really warmed my heart.

  4. Penny Tushingham

    Money can not buy the feeling it you get when you learn that you made a difference in someone’s life. Go Poola Girl! I am sure you have touched many wonderful lifes.

    Pen Pen

Leave a Reply

