The Juicing Age

Captain’s Log  5,809

Okay, I am trying to juice.  I know it’s not something you just start and do 100%, so I am going slowly.  I did the tomato soup thing the other morning.  I experimented with kale and spinach this morning.  That one still needs some work.  I added carrots.  It still tasted like crap.  I added raspberries.  A little better.  I added a bit of honey.  Still better.  But it looked so awful.  The red berries made it look like something the plumber would find.  

I made myself orange/carrot juice last night.  That was amazingly good. 

orange and carrot

It was really foamy.  And really ORANGE!  I loved it.  I will make this one again.

And then I must confess……I went to a lunch meeting yesterday at a seafood place.  Not my pick, obviously.  But it was an important meeting.  The only thing on the menu for me was a baby kale salad with Marcona almonds and sliced apples.  I must admit……..it was delicious! 

So I headed off to the store to buy my own baby kale.  I think it will taste better in a salad rather than a juiced drink, but I might be wrong.  Time to experiment.  If these juices are so easy to digest, that might be the way for me to go.  I have such a delicate tummy and get sick very easily.  I might have found the golden key.  We shall see.  I can even take a juice thing for lunch every day.  It’s a whole new world.

 

17 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

17 responses to “The Juicing Age

  1. Kale isn’t bad in soups.
    Yes, juices are a great way to get your vitamins, but I like that salad idea for lunch. Veggies work well for breakfast for me and my fussy tummy.

  2. I’ve never had kale either, to the best of my knowledge, but going to try it out. However if I go by the list of all the foods I shouldn’t have for this and that, I won’t eat at all.

  3. I’ve never tasted kale either…and I’m shocked and disappointed to hear that broccoli isn’t good for people with thyroid problems. I know a blogger who has been juicing for about a year and has lost about 50 lbs because she combined it with exercise. I would think being a vegetarian already would make it easier for you to adapt to juicing quickly. Good luck.

  4. Patty O'

    Kale is tasty…especially if it is cooked in bacon fat and with crumbled bacon added…which is useless information for a vegetarian. I was developing a taste for it until I learned it is also on the proscribed list for people with thyroid disorder. No no’s: Cabbages/kale/broccoli/cauliflower/turnips. Ah well…

    The Orange/Carrot juice is beautiful and the cheery glass is grand.

    • poolagirl

      Why is it bad for your thyroid?

      • Patty O'

        There is a natural substance in the cruciferous vegetables that nullifies the effect of thyroxin both natural and synthetic. I’m just careful to keep amounts small. But when my doctor told me to avoid that group as a general rule it certainly explained my childhood aversions. I did not just dislike broccoli and cauliflower and such, but actively detested them. It was a bit of a battle between my innate aversions and my mother’s New England Boiled Dinner traditions. Ultimately it led to one of the biggest I TOLD YOU SO moments of my life. Sometimes we have to pay attention to the messages our bodies send to us!

  5. I’ve never been convinced that you can get all the nutrients from a juice, which is just as well, since juices are dangerous for diabetics.

    But if you’re not sure about kale, even in a salad, try using raw broccoli. I originally tried it because bagged coleslaw spoils quickly; to my surprise, broccoli holds up. All winter long, it has been the base of my salads, with onion or radish or sweet pepper added. If you don’t like creamy dressings, try it with oil and balsamic vinegar.

    (I get the best broccoli slaw at Trader Joe’s, when I can get there. 😎 )

  6. Rhonda

    I buy the Kale salad at Costco and it is out of this world……. I love it – I have it for lunch at least 2-3 days/week. Something to try…. They also have one pre-made at Trader Joe’s – also good.

  7. bholles

    I have never tasted kale.

Leave a Reply

