Goldfinches and Smelly Goo

Captain’s Log   5,805

I just discovered a new little deal on Facebook.  You can block people from seeing what you write.  I have someone who comments inappropriately on some of my posts, and that makes me upset.  She doesn’t take anything I say seriously at all.  So, this morning I just tapped a few buttons and she will never see another post.  Unfriending this person would cause World War III, so this is a better choice.    She is so narcissistic that she won’t even notice  that I am not posting, but she WOULD notice if I took her off my list.  It’s complicated.  This one is complicated.  It’s one of those online relationships you don’t even know why you have in the first place.  I certainly don’t cultivate any sort of 3D relationship with this person.  Ugh!

After a weekend of coming to grips with time zones, finding my routines again, and dipping back into work, I feel almost ready to leap into the fray again.  We are having a St. Patrick’s Day potluck at work.  I didn’t prepare a damn thing so I will stop at the store for some cupcakes with green frosting.  It’s the best I can do.  I am also bringing everyone a nice big bar of Dutch chocolate, so I am sure my sins will be forgiven.

The goldfinches devoured almost $20 worth of thistle seed while I was gone.  They must be having babies about now because the females are eating eating eating eating.  I love it.  There is nothing quite like the sound of 30-40 birds so happy in the morning.   It’s some every day happiness.

The roses did well while I was gone.  After the severe hacking done by the gardener, they are coming back strong.  Some were even long enough for a small arrangement on the dining room table.

morning roses

The scent is amazing!

So life goes on.  The world keeps spinning.  And rumbling.  There was a pretty good quake this morning in Los Angeles.  I didn’t feel anything here, but I guess it was quite loud and frightening to those who live close to the epicenter.  I will be in Los Angeles all next week for an automobile museum conference.  Most of the folks attending are from places where earthquakes never happen.  If we get one then, it will certainly be an event.  The last time I attended this conference in Los Angeles, there was a bomb threat and we had to evacuate the building.  It’s always something.  Since we had to leave the building, some of us wandered off to the La Brea tar pits and spent the afternoon smelling black goo.

tar pit

Nice and gooey.  They have been excavating this site for years.  They find stuff every day that keeps bubbling up.  Very close to downtown Los Angeles.

Okay, I have delayed my re-entry long enough.  Time to get those cupcakes and head into work.  

16 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

16 responses to “Goldfinches and Smelly Goo

  1. I am still trying to figure out all the ins and outs of FB and its various blocking mechanisms. And forget Dangerspouse.. Yes,homemade cupcakes or other confectioneries are always preferred, but store bought are an acceptable alternative when you’re just coming back from overseas AND you’re bringing quality chocolate as an accompaniment.

  2. I would feel awful if I didn’t see you on Facebook….glad you haven;’t pushed a button my way. Love the roses,,,,just beautiful things, Have fun in LA, and just think, while you were gone there was a quake in Pine Valley.

  3. Oh god. You really, honestly, resorted to store bought cupcakes? For people you like, at least ostensibly? That’s it. I’m flying out this weekend with a whisk and a toque and I’m gonna save you from yourself. You can’t go through life this way. It’s just too sad.

    • poolagirl

      I would say anything to get you out here to cook for me. Oh…..another small crop of lemons is just about ready. FYI, Southwest flies from Newark to San Diego. Get on the damn plane.

  4. Patty O'

    Hmmm…I had a similar situation here, only I blocked HIS posts and he will never know. I just got tired of seeing his poison on my screen, so now I don’t! I LOVE the juxtaposition of the gorgeous roses and the tar pits. You continue to delight.

  5. Glad you are enjoying the roses and the birds again. I’m sure they are equally as lovely in your little Paradise.

  6. I completely understand why you would block as opposed to unfriending. I have one of those, from whom I have not heard a word in almost a year. (She thinks she is punishing me.) I never post in her favorite sites. 😎

  7. Rhonda

    Are you coming up here this week or next? Do you know where you are staying? Maybe we could meet for dinner???

Leave a Reply

