Keep Calm and Go

Captain’s Log   5,801

One more day!  I just got the email that I can do the check-in process online.  What have I packed so far?   My Kindle charger, my European voltage adapter, and a bag of Australian red licorice.  What more do I need?  I Skyped with Anneke this morning and she said the weather is really nice.  The extended forecast calls for nice.  I like nice.  I try to be nice to match the weather.

I like red licorice.  The black stuff is………..GAH-ROSSSSSSSSS!  I also heard that it can be dangerous, so I am glad I don’t eat it.  Read on (via Google search)

Eat too much black licorice, and you could be dead.  This creepy Halloween warning comes from the FDA. Too much black licorice, the federal agency says, can lead to “abnormal heart rhythms, as well as high blood pressure, edema (swelling), lethargy, and congestive heart failure.”

All righty then.  No problem.  I had no idea my dislike of black licorice could actually save my life.  You just never know.  

I am so excited!  Flight leaves tomorrow morning at 8:17.  Then it’s  3.5 hours to Houston.  2 hour layover (or so) and then 9.5 hours to Amsterdam.  YAY!  I appreciate the layover.  Get off the plane.  Walk around.  Eat some real overly-priced food.  We arrive in Amsterdam at 8:15 AM on Thursday (Amsterdam time).   Anneke is a wizard at dealing with jet lag.  We will eat some food, stay up for 5-6 hours, and then we will sleep 3-4 hours.  Eat again.  Hold off as long as possible before going to bed.  She has done this many times.  She’s got it all down.  The last time I was there, I was really quite fine the next day.  Being excited helps take the edge off jet lag.  When my friend K. David and I landed in Auckland after flying (with layovers) something like 17 hours, we got our campervan and drove for 10 more hours.  Of course, that was 20 years ago.  Ahem.

keep calm

Breathe!  Breathe!  Eat red licorice on the plane!  Breathe!

21 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

21 responses to “Keep Calm and Go

  1. joanie

    Have a safe trip and lots of fun!

  2. LC

    wishing you the best of times an energy to share your experiences with us when you return!

  3. ned

    Enjoy Amsterdam it is a city that you can easily fall in love with.

  4. goatbarnwitch

    I suppose if they are making the black licorice with the actual licorice plant there could be those risks. I thought everything was artificial flavoring these days, who knew?
    I hope your trip goes smoothly and all good things happen in Amsterdam. Don’t forget the pics for us desk chair travelers

  5. I’m not a licorice eater. I am an excited travel watcher. Go, Poolie!!!

  6. maryz

    But I love black (real!) licorice. And the red, too, of course.

  7. Patty O'

    I hope all the hopes and expectations are realized. Don’t forget to eat some chocolate!

  8. bholles

    Have a great time.

  9. Penny Tushingham

    Wishing you awesome weather and a super time. Can wait to hear all that you learned!

    Pen Pen

Leave a Reply

