Facebook is Our Scape-Gnu

Captain’s Log   5,786

Thanks to all for the lovely birthday wishes.  I am so blessed to have such amazing people in my life.  So blessed.

I was checking my stats on this journal the other day and discovered that my readership is down 50%  since 2012.  People just don’t get into online journaling anymore.  It was SO hot when I started back in 2003 on Diaryland.  Now….not so much.  I blame Facebook.  Let’s blame Facebook for everything.  Scapegoat time.

Why a scape goat?  Why not a scape gnu?  Or a scape three-toed sloth?  I don’t think goats get a fair shake most of the time.  It’s disrespectful to treat goats like that.

Perhaps it’s the word “blog” that has driven people away.  I really don’t like the sound of that word.  Even though I prefer the word “journal,” that might not be the correct word to use for what I do here.  I did some research.  Apparently, a journal is what you keep so you can write your blog.  A journal is private.  A blog is something like this.  I just wish the word sounded better.  BLOG.  It just falls flat.  BLOG.  Sounds like a bag of something dull falling on cement.  Perhaps a large bag of sand dropped from 10 feet or so.  BLOG.  Thump.

The fact of the matter is there are fewer and fewer people visiting my site.  Fewer and fewer people are writing BLOGS.  Entries are becoming shorter and less “meaty.”  Let’s blame Facebook.

Facebook is an excellent social media tool, but it is NOT a replacement for serious and thoughtful writing.  I am not saying that what I write here is serious or thoughtful all the time, but every now and then I do hit a point.  Someday, I would like to get paid for hitting points.  Unfortunately, there isn’t a large market for the points I choose to hit.  If I could hit points in the sporting community, politics, or religion…….hey.  My life could change.   Unfortunately, most writing sponsors are not interested in photo contests urging people to wear candy buckets or reading about stupid cashiers at Home Depot.  They want substance.  I cannot offer that.  I have no interest in substance.

Every now and then, I churn up some dreck about religion (or lack of religious understanding).  That sets things off for a bit and then my world finds dead calm again.  The problem with me is that I cannot maintain.  It’s been the criticism of my life since I was in kindergarten.  “Paula does not focus well.”  And now…...”Poolie, if you would just decide to do something and stick with it, you would be so successful.”  Posh and poop.

Successful people focus.  Successful people do not become flibbertigibbets who prattle on about nonsense.  But I love prattling on about nonsense.  I am a world-class nonsense prattler.  This last sentence proves it.

So as I have reached the milestone age of 62 now, perhaps I will just toss all this road to success and need to focus into the trash bin and say FUCK IT.  I just wish I didn’t care so much.  I wish I could wake up and just be the female version of David Sedaris.  I wonder if he’d mind.

Now I need to go check my Facebook, the damn stealer of creative expression.

18 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

18 responses to “Facebook is Our Scape-Gnu

  1. To get readers, one has to read and note. Since I only have a pinch of time, I read and note on only so many blogs. Facebook is tryiing to get us all to pay for our posts…so many posts don’t show up. Twitter is still number one, but most folks just text. I think that Chevy ad with the three texting passengers says it all. LOL

  2. I still read but don’t write so much any more. I think I have maybe four readers altogether, if that. I do more on FB than I used to, but it’s still not much more than a tool for me

  3. Patty O'

    It seems we are now living in a Twitter and Instagram world where 144 characters rule and words are no longer to be tolerated. I can’t live in that kind of world, without adjectives and adverbs or even real words, only U and R and LOL and IMHO. You keep right on reading. The 50% that is left is the SMART 50%.

  4. Wait. How did I not know that today was your birthday? Enjoy the rest of your day! Hell, enjoy the rest of the week as you celebrate who you are and how much you mean to all of us.
    Also don’t stop writing your blog – you’re my Jiminy Cricket who reminds me that I should start writing again!

  5. I miss the old blog sites too. I have lost connection with so many people that I had come to know and care about when Xanga took a dump…..but I still try to get something out there at least once every 10 days or so. I may just stop with Facebook for awhile again. I do enjoy a couple of the games which keep my mind active……but even those get boring at times. I also need to edit my latest manuscript and get that book on Amazon.com soon. I always enjoy your postings….say..maybe that’s a good name POSTINGS…..

  6. I’m glad you write in exactly the way you do. – I’m never sure what it will be, but it always sounds like you, and I like that. I write my own blog for myself – mainly now to get all my miz out somewhere to save dumping it on people I see – I’d like to keep some real life friends, but also because I HAVE to write but rarely have anything original and/or useful to say. That’s why I like blogs – if people get sick of me they can and will fuck off. I think the word came from web-log – I agree, it is ugly and also does sound like it has more importance than either you or me are claiming. Happy Thursday xx

  7. Penny Tushingham

    Heard last night that Facebook usage is way down. People are becoming more aware of the lack of privacy and how what you post can effect other things in your life. Those that complain about their jobs on FB, beware your boss might be watching!

    Pen Pen

  8. farmgirl

    To blog or not to blog…that is the question! I agree. The word “blog” does nothing. It stops in the mind and mouth then falls out. Journals people perceive as private. You would think people would want to be in on the private life of others! So..your quest is to come up with a new word for what you do! I myself love your writing. One day it is frivolous and funny, the next serious. Definitely a peek into the life and times of you. And you share it with us. We are fortunate. Is your “blog” public or by invitation only? I also bemoan the loss of letters. Something will go when there are no more letters to be found and treasured in dusty attics, wrapped in faded ribbon, a testimonial to a life and love won or lost.
    So my vote is keep in writing. I don’t know about others, but I take your wisdom and craziness with me and it gets passed on one way or another. Write because YOU love it. That is enough.

  9. If a journal is private, what do you call what a journalist publishes? (Unsubstantiated trash?)

    In Biblical times everyone who any animals at all had goats, which were evidently more or less expendable. At the season of Rosh Hashana and Yom Kippur, one was supposed to take two goats, sacrifice one and, symbolically transferring one’s sins to the other, release it into the wilderness. That was the scapegoat. (You wouldn’t do that with something as valuable as a cow.)

    I have lost track of many former online journalists because all they do is FB. I guess it’s a sign of the times, and I am glad I am old.

Leave a Reply

