Ramping Up For the White Elephant

Captain’s Log   5,748

It was quite a day at the dealership yesterday.  Oh boy.  They discovered a torn motor mount.  That’s the bracket thing that keeps your engine inside the vehicle.  Kind of important.  So I had it fixed.  YAY!  Another $200 I didn’t expect to spend.  YAY!   The good news is I earned $40 in bonus cash to spend on my next visit.  I’ll take it.  

Christmas shopping is finished!  I am going to the annual white elephant party on Sunday.  Bringing this treasure.  

doll lamp

Stop being jealous!  Just stop it!

I have been going to this party for something like 20 years now.  It’s huge fun!   We eat, we sit around and open these horrendous gifts, and then we go home.  Same thing every year.  And I love it!  Some gifts return every year.  The festive shell-covered Kleenex box is one.  So are the size 24 women’s underpants with some sort of fur sewn into the crotch.  I did not say this party is tasteful.  On the contrary……

Here are some great Santa photos.

scared of santa 17

I have no clue what’s happening here.  Looks like he is about to put that child into the box and ship her off somewhere.  Like Jamaica.

scared of santa 12

Tricks for Santa!  Hurts to even think about it.

scared of santa 9

Another one that defies description.  Dreaming about your pets at Christmas with that vacant, far-away look in your eyes?  Works for me!

18 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

18 responses to “Ramping Up For the White Elephant

  1. The only thing that would improve the lamp is if the doll became a troll doll. You remember those, don’t you? They look kind of like the guy in the last photo with the dogs, only with hair.

  2. bholles

    I wrapped mine yesterday. Found one in the closet from a few years ago.

  3. Patty O'

    Those are three of the most disturbing photos I have ever seen. Goodonya!

  4. Wow. Way to make the Yuletide gay, dude.

  5. Just love the lamp! Can I have it? Please! Please! It would go so nicely with my velvet portrait of Don Ho.

  6. Rhonda

    I sort of love love love that lamp!

  7. Penny Tushingham

    Greatp present you have there. I am sure you will come home from laughing so hard at the gifts this year.

    Pen Pen

Leave a Reply

