Oh Come Let Us Adore Those Lemons

Captain’s Log   5,741

It’s winter here.  There is snow less than an hour away.  I know it seems weird, but it’s happening.

Winter-Wonderland9-1205

On the road to Julian, California

The newscasters and weather people are having a time with all of this.  There was a reporter out at the train station today reporting that people are wearing hats and gloves.  I kid you not.  The main fodder for the report was hats and gloves.  They interviewed a young man who was grateful for his hat.  Okay…..and all righty then.

I sent some lemons to my online pal, Dangerspouse.  He is a hilarious and irreverent goofball who loves to cook.  When he told me he cannot get Meyer lemons on the east coast, I offered to send him a dozen from my tree.  They arrived at his house yesterday.  He was beyond thrilled.  Here is a clip from his email.

You should see me right now. I’ve been running around the kitchen wringing my hands frantically and talking out loud 200 words per minute

ohgodwhatcanIdowiththesethingsnowmaybealemonsouffleortartorcurdandI’vegottagetsomefreshvodkaforlemoncelloandhowaboutatajine?ohwaitIhavetopreservethemfirst….”

Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

I LOVE YOU!!

I feel so loved and appreciated!  And all it took was a box of lemons!  He loved them so much he placed them as part of the manger scene.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Oh Come Let Us Adore Them

As another online pal said, “When life gives you lemons, make a messiah.”  I think the lemons are Jesus and the three wise guys.  Or maybe Jesus and two sheep and wise guy.  Or maybe Siamese wise guys and Jesus and a shepherd.  It’s hard to tell.

I wish I lived closer so Dangerspouse could make me a pie.  He is a gurr-may cook, so I know the pie would be wonderful.  

I am not a gurr-may anything, so I took my staff out for a nice holiday dinner last night.  We went to a simple little Italian place near the park.  The food was amazing and everybody had a wonderful time.  

paesano

I gave everybody a $50 gift card from Trader Joe’s too.  The previous director used to hand out cash bonuses, but only to certain people (I believe three of us).  I think that’s very wrong and mean-spirited.   I believe in treating everybody equally.  So there.

I also believe that Santa should scare all children equally.

scared of santa 2

21 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

21 responses to “Oh Come Let Us Adore Those Lemons

  1. I’m watching an old Bette Davis movie “All This and Heaven, Too”. she looks like she’s eating a lemon through most of the movie. Coincidence?

  2. You inspired us at this end of the world. We’re considering planting citrus. Though G and my daughter want grapefruit, which doesn’t work so well for culinary purposes. And Dangerspouse would need a bigger manger.

  3. Susanna

    Dangerspouse must have a genius IQ and he can cook, what a catch! Acolyte #2. I agree, gifts for ALL, giving to three is miserly. Oh, it rhymes! That’s as good as it get’s with my IQ. What the heck is Santa doing to that poor baby. I can’t believe they made a Xmas card of it. Did they send one to the Child Protection Agency?

  4. annanotbob

    Mmm that made my mouth water. I’d go lemonade first then lemon posset mmmm xx

  5. DangerSpouse could also suck on a lemon and then he could wink at everyone he sees. Love the joy….

  6. Wheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee! I’m in Lemon Land!!

    I’m gearing up right now to make a Lemon Tart. I’ve made a pâte sucrée and it’s resting in the fridge waiting for the Magic Filling to be made. When that’s done and setting I’m going to make a crème anglaise base flavored with lemon zest, chill it down tonight, and toss it in the ice cream maker tomorrow with more juice. Normally I turn lemons into lemon ice or sherbert, but these are SO STINKIN’ SWEET AND MILD AND GOODNESS AND KITTENS that I’m trying it with ice cream.

    That should leave me with a few still to use. Some are going into a lemoncello, which should be ready once the KILLER HAT AND GLOVES SEASON is over (ok, seriously, that made me laugh to read that). And if any are left over after THAT…I’m eating them out of hand, like an apple or roast baby piglet. I made avgalemono and pork picatta last night, but the nuances of the lemons were overwhelmed by other flavors. So I’m sticking to sweets with the rest.

    And in case I forget to say so in my e-mail: Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

    ps. no one commented on the penguin in the manger. He came thousands of miles through shark infested waters to be there. The biggest miracle of them all (after the miracle of a virgin giving birth to a Meyer Lemon, that is).

  7. Patty O'

    We need a :Dangerspouse Fan Club. I always look forward to his responses but the Lemon Creche is THE BEST. Isn’t it grand to be able to give that much joy with a gift of lemons?

  8. maryz

    Loved the news story! John wanted to know if the temperature had gotten below 70*. LOL

  9. I keep thinking “lemon chiffon pie.” Or just lemon chiffon, served like a pudding. I learned to make that when I was a little girl. I bet it’s not healthful any more.

Leave a Reply

