Grateful for Eden

Captain’s Log   5,734

I love my yard.  I really do.  It’s a magical place for birds and plants to grow.  It’s a place that inspires me every single day.  All of San Diego is a paradise.  Some people never see it.  I was telling a friend just yesterday that it took several years before I could walk out of my door and not be thrilled to see palm trees.  I see them every day but they don’t have the same effect as when I was a newbie here.  I often say to San Diego natives they should imagine what it would be like to wake up and see a foot of snow on the ground.  It’s breathtaking, but when it’s part of your visual culture every day for months (and years and decades and lifetimes), you don’t “see” it as much.

Here are some visual treats.

cactus

Taken about 80 miles east of San Diego in the high desert.  Part of my I Sure Wouldn’t Want to Fall on That series.

Sometimes, it snows in the high desert.  It gets cold up there.  Cold and brutal…..especially when the snow covers up the sticky parts of the cactus.

now high desert

Taken in Joshua Tree National Park just outside of Palm Springs

The next photo was taken right outside the door this morning when I went out to see if the world was still doing fine.  It’s the pod seeds of a pygmy date palm.  These trees don’t produce dates, just these little berries that fall to the ground to make new trees.  I love them.  There was one of these trees in the yard a year ago.  I love them so much I planted six more.

palm pregg

Reminds me a bit of corn.  Sorta.

I started reading the latest National Geographic last night, and I became entranced with the journey being undertaken by Paul Salopek.  He is walking from Herto Bouri, Ethiopia to Tierra del Fuego, Chile.  It will take him 7 years to walk 21,000 miles from eastern Africa, across the Middle East, through China, across Russia into Siberia, through Alaska, down the western coasts of Canada and the United States, through Mexico and Central America, and along the western edge of South America.  He is calling this the Out of Eden Walk.  He is hoping to learn about human migration and much more.  I am fascinated with this.  He started in January of 2013 and hopes to be in Amman, Jordan by January of 2014.  I think it’s crazy and I also think it’s fascinating.

eden walk

Incredible.  I have this bookmarked so I can keep up with his adventures.

Today marks the busiest season for the museum.  Winter holidays are a big deal here.  From now until the end of the year, we are expecting 50,000 visitors to our museum alone.  Let the games begin!

15 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

15 responses to “Grateful for Eden

  1. jo

    Looks like I’ll need to see the way!
    Nice photos of Joshua, brutally cold is right!

  2. Wonderful photographs. I never tire of our world here. I liked the snow. I loved the Parkway in Virginia, but for me there is no home but the ocean. Survive them friend, and when I get back we can have dinner at your house and I’ll bring the salad….or desert. 🙂

  3. I remember reading something that suggested that ALL pleasures of the senses suffer from diminishing returns, including beautiful sights, sounds and tastes along with drugs, adrenaline rushes and all sorts of stuff. (Suggesting that the way to keep the original sense of WOW is to ration things, not seek out more and more), but making a garden has to be the exception as it’s always changing, moth on month, year on year.I love seeing your garden – thanks for sharing. Hope your busy time is full of fun xx

  4. susanna

    I love those adventure films. Thanks for the heads up about NETFLICKS. I will have to see The Way. And I can’t wait for the film with Paul Salopek to come out. I LOVE your yard also and all the beautiful birds and other little creatures it attracts. Happy Thanksgiving Holidays to you!

  5. Patty O'

    Several years ago a Brit followed the path of Alexander the Great. The only reason he was able to do so was because he was NOT American. Otherwise permission to cross several borders would not have been granted.

    As for “The Way”: the BEST. It is currently running again on NETFLIX if anyone is interested in a very moving tale.

  6. I love the pygmy date palms. They really do contribute to making your back yard your own private Eden.

    As to the gentleman’s travels for the next several years, it’s a massive and potentially deadly undertaking. He will have to go through some extremely dangerous parts of the world. I wish him all the luck he can get.

  7. I could imagine you taking one of those long treks along the ancient and worn paths. Have you seen THE WAY with Martin Sheen and his son Emilio Estevez?

Leave a Reply

