Bring Us a Figgy Tree

Captain’s Log   5,723

I went to an event in the park last night.  It was big.  About 500 people.  When I made the RSVP for my board chair and myself, it clearly stated that we should indicate regular or vegetarian menu.  I checked one of each.  I was clearly anticipating a plated meal.

Wrong.  There were five food stations.  Other than dessert, everything was animal flesh.  Chicken, beef, fish.  The only possible choice for me was to beg the people serving the fish to give me just the quinoa and the wilted spinach.  The spinach promptly lodged in my permanent retainer.  I felt like I had a seaweed factory setting up show behind my teeth.  I certainly didn’t want to sit there and pick it out with my fingernails, so I just pretended it wasn’t there.  As best I could.

I drank a small glass of champagne in the hopes that the bubbles would dislodge the spinach a bit.  No luck on that either.  I had to wait until I got home to blast that spinach free with my water flosser.  Tenacious spinach.

The grand dame of the park ended up sitting at our table.  This woman scares the crap out of me.  She is as imposing as Margaret Thatcher was.  Very rich.  Very, very powerful.  She controls most of what happens.  Everything must go through her channels.  

Imagine my surprise when she pulled me aside for a chat.  She was actually laughing about something and set my heart at ease immediately.   We shared a private little joke about a mix-up that happened last year.  WHEW!  I’m glad I wasn’t sent to my room without supper, but since there wasn’t even anything there I could have even remotely considered supper, I guess it was moot.

On the way out, we were all given an enormous coffee cup that contained seeds and small soil pods so we can plant our own trees.  They get this big.  I kid you not.

figgy

A little large for my yard

So we were all thinking we should plant our seeds in the yards of people we don’t like.  Send them away for 100 years, and when they return…..HOO BOY!   They might actually have a tree house instead of a house house.

14 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

14 responses to “Bring Us a Figgy Tree

  1. Patty O'Reilly

    I LOVE that old Moreton Fig tree!!! I remember it well when I was 5 years old and that’s a very long time ago!

  2. Bex

    I like the photo of you at age 6, it reminded me of me at the same age…very similar hair style… good old ’50’s, huh?

    Jigsy and (little) Becky (Bex)

  3. I bet Febreeze Lady would love a tree 😉

  4. goatbarnwitch

    Ah, the folks who think vegetarian means no red meat…. sadly both chicken and fish have eyes and a heartbeat…
    I’m glad you got a chance to see the human side of someone who hovers over 😉

  5. Are you less scared of her now. 🙂 The only person who ever partially paralyzed me was Bea Evenson, one of the founders of C3. She was very kind to this college student who used to run errands in her direction, but she was in charge. The big fountain is named after her.

  6. maryz

    I always thought it was a figgy pudding.

    But I’ve seen that tree – and it is somewhat enormous! Sorry you didn’t get some dinner to go with it.

  7. I can think of a few people where you could plant.

Leave a Reply

