Images From My Trip

Captain’s Log   5,692

Busy busy busy with the upcoming show AND a new exhibit at the museum.  The exhibit opens in four days and the play opens next Friday.  Incredibly inopportune timing, but hey.

Big Sister Mia and I managed to sneak away to Alpine for an evening of fun.  I had bid on and won an overnight stay at a rustic lodge in Alpine, so we took advantage of it.  It was fun to just be away from the hustle and bustle for a brief time.  It was short-lived, however.  Too short. 

ayers 2

Rustic lodge with a ceramic dog.  Mia was safe because it didn’t have real fur.

And here are some shots from London, Ontario.  Just a few.

london 1

Poutine.  French fries, cheese curds, and gravy.  This was the veggie version with mushroom gravy.  I was coming down with a nasty cold and didn’t enjoy this as much as I could have.  Will try it again next time when I can taste my food.

london 2

Tame herd of deer in the cemetery.  They stay within the gates and live a lovely life wandering around eating flowers and berries.  They have little fear of humans.  This guy ate a few apples we brought along and then stopped to pee.  Hence, this nice photo (since you cannot see the pee).

london 3

Another shot from the cemetery.  Sad angel against the blue autumn sky.  It made me melancholy.

More tomorrow.  This day has sounded the call more than once.

My neighbor is still missing.  Nobody has seen her since last Tuesday morning.  Her drug addict daughter and the daughter’s boyfriend were living in the garage.  They are considered “people of interest.”  It does not look good for this sweet old lady.  The whole neighborhood is shaken up over this.  Rightfully so.  I hate drugs.  I really do.

14 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

14 responses to “Images From My Trip

  1. poundheadhere

    I’m sorry to hear about your neighbor. Much as you want to hope for the best, sometimes it comes down to accepting the reality. If drugs are involved, it’s rarely the best.

    Your images are lovely as usual!

  2. So do I.

    So glad you posted. I was beginning to worry about you. Thought the cold had laid you totally low.

    Many hugs from the beach…………

  3. susanna

    You are still packing it in, I’m still arm-chair traveling. I love the Alpine restaurant in winter when they use the fireplace. So sorry about your neighbor.

  4. Patty O'Reilly

    So sorry about your neighbor. I hope she will be found alive and well. As for the deer; now I understand the peculiar stance. Hilarious!

  5. Oh no, Poolie. I can’t believe she is still missing…and I also hate drugs.

  6. maryz

    That’s really terrible about your neighbor. I hope they find something out soon. (We have two of those root baskets like the one with the pine cones in your photo of the lodge in Alpine. Gorgeous!)

  7. i thought your play was a week from Friday. Alpine was fun.

Leave a Reply

