Back Home Again With a Head Cold

Captain’s Log    5,691

The party’s over.  I am back in San Diego and about to face WORK again.  Why does time fly by so quickly?

I had an amazing time.  Everything we did was fun.  I even got to feed the famous black squirrels of London!  They are so tame.  They come right up to you and take peanuts from your hand.  Magic stuff.

Unfortunately, I got some sort of cold/flu thing.  Started feeling it on Sunday night.  By Monday morning, I felt like someone had run me over with a truck.  But I kept going.  Because I wanted to experience EVERYTHING!

Amy gave me some Ephedra.  It’s illegal here because too many people use it to make crystal meth.  It’s the same ingredient that’s in Sudafed.  Only it’s super strong.  I tanked up on it all day yesterday because I needed to fly home.  Even so, the descent into San Diego was brutal on my ears.  I was almost crying.  When we landed, both ears were completely plugged.  Friend Pam picked me up and dropped me home.  Fortunately, she had laid in a supply of milk, juice, and bananas so I could get my motor started this morning.

Before I went to bed, I went online to see what I could do about those ears.  I tried everything.  I pinched my nose and blew.  I jutted out my chin and raised my face.  I yawned and chewed.  I put hot wet towels on my ears.  I was ready to stand on my head and sing Old Rugged Cross if I thought it would help.  And then, I sneezed.  A huge sneeze.  There was a searing pain in my left ear, but it unplugged a wee bit.  At least I hear better.  I think they will both be fine in another day or so.

I also wrote to Frontier and complained about them.  I upgraded my seat from Detroit to Denver, and they still wanted $1.99 for a soda!  The air marshall who was sitting in front of me with his gun didn’t have to pay.  The kicker was when they boarded the plane in Denver without a flight crew.  One of the pre-board passengers came up to the gate and told the agent there wasn’t anyone on the plane.  How can you board a plane and not realize you don’t have a crew?

In spite of it all, it was a wonderful trip.  Great people and great adventures.  When I am feeling more like myself, I will post photos.  But for now……the salt mines beckon.

18 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

18 responses to “Back Home Again With a Head Cold

  1. susanna

    Have a mocha coffee frappachino! It’s not really good for you but it tastes so good makes me feel better.

  2. WordPress is not liking me today for some reason. Hope it’s only a temporary glitch!

    I also hope you’re feeling much, much better now. When’s your next play? 😉

  3. Welcome home, and I am soooooooooooo sorry about the cold/flu/thingy. Hope the salt mines welcome you just perfectly.

  4. goatbarnwitch

    dang germs, they seem to be everywhere lately. can’t wait to hear the details of your trip (with pictures!) Feel better soon!

  5. bholles

    No more Frontier Airlines.

  6. I’ve had similar symptoms, though in my case I’ve used the Ephedra (or U.S. equivalent) to relieve it. However, I always try for nonmedical solutions first. They include:
    1. Do not lie on your stomach; gravity moves fluids into your frontal sinuses, which are already congested.
    2. I have had excellent results from getting into the shower and running the hot water on my face. I know immediately whether it’s going to work because I can feel the congestion loosening.

    If you are not taking any other medication (you don’t want to mix them), you can try an over-the-counter anti-allergy pill. That often causes your nose to run as it all loosens up. If you are already on a medication, try hot tea — and breathe the steam too.

    I know very well how uncomfortable that is. May it go away soon.

    I wish I could help you. {{{Hugs}}} from Dr. Empress. 8)

  7. maryz

    Glad you had such a good trip – even with the rough travels and the finishing cold.

  8. Rhonda

    Take some decongestant and some nose drops. That should help!

  9. Penny Tushingham

    There is a lot of crud running around so hopefully you will start feeling better soon. Glad you had a wonderful time!

    Pen Pen

  10. annanotbob

    Welcome home! Hope you feel better soon xx

Leave a Reply

