One More Sleep

Captain’s Log   5,688

Imagine my surprise when I booted up the old online ticketing option for my trip tomorrow only to discover that the 10:00 AM flight has been changed.  I am now leaving at 6:25 AM.  Thank goodness I opted for an online check-in.  I received absolutely no notification of this change.  Oh say GRRRRRRR!

Now, instead of spending 35 minutes in Denver, I get to spend over three hours there.  That’s okay.  I like the Denver airport.  They have pretend dinosaurs embedded all over the walkways.  Lots of stone.  I guess it’s designed to make you feel like Wilma or Betty.  Wilma or Betty who?  If you don’t know…..sorry.  I cannot bring you up to culture code.  I will have some Game of Thrones to read.  Yes, I am STILL slogging through those books.  No grief about that, please.  I leave the house these days around 9:00 AM and come home between 9:00 and 10:00 PM.  Weekends are always booked with something or other, so finding quality reading time is challenging.  That’s what airplanes are for.  I love to read on planes.  I have window seats for both legs of the trip too.  I consider that lucky since I was three hours late checking in online.

I can go to Starbucks again now that they aren’t courting the gun-toting asshats who tried to make it their own private club.  I avoid Starbucks at all costs because I don’t like their coffee that much and their food is usually stale, but it will do in a pinch.  They actually flag this journal because I write about Starbucks a lot.  I can guarantee that within a few hours, a reader from Starbucks headquarters will show up in my stats.  Hello, Starbucks headquarters snooping person!

I just realized I am traveling on International Talk Like a Pirate Day.  I had better be sporting my Surrender the Booty t-shirt when I pass through TSA.  Let’s give them something to talk about.  I am putting the Trader Joe’s coffee in my checked luggage.  Last time I carried coffee in the carry-on bag, I got subjected to that wand thing that seeks out gunpowder.  I can see how Starbucks coffee might set off the gunpowder thing, but Trader Joe’s?  Come on, people!

13 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

13 responses to “One More Sleep

  1. I’ve spent so much time writing the past few weeks I haven’t read much. So now that I’m catching up I’m saying WTF to airlines kicking you up four hours earlier without telling you!!

  2. susanna

    I tried to say Grrrrr for you but you are flying off for adventure and I am sitting here on my computer so it came out as an envy Grrrrr.
    Peek out the window and look for geese.
    .

  3. joanie

    Have a reat time.

  4. I waved at you as you flew off, then I reset my Facebook settings that I didn’t understand and still don’t. Have a ball. Flap hard.

  5. Patty O'Reilly

    You LIKE DIA? I HATE that airport, have spent 3 lifetimes on long waits and half killed myself on short ones (Arr. Gate 21, Connect at Gate 95 That’s what I did going to Montana in July.) There is also an environmental engineer somewhere who planned (PLANNED?) the winged terminal who should be horsewhipped for the lousy heat exchange. Grrr…

  6. Have a safe trip and lots of fun.

  7. Penny Tushingham

    Have a wonderful trip!

    Pen pen

Leave a Reply

