Wisdom of the Buddha

Captain’s Log   5,674

I “stole” this from my friend, Jett.  I don’t think she will mind. 

buddha

Sometimes I just love heartfelt things.

I had my days all turned around.  I thought I was having dinner with a friend last night, but it’s TONIGHT!  Okay, I adjusted.  I sat outside and drank sparkling water and juice instead.  Good plan.  I stayed out there until the light was too dim for reading and the chairs had made nasty red digs into the backs of my thighs.  Once the thighs get dug like that, it’s time to call it a night.

How gently you lived.  Interesting concept.  I’m sure that has different meanings to everyone.  To me, it’s how true I stay to my core values that serve as opposed to some of my values that can actually cause harm if used the wrong way.  I think most of us have a fair idea of our own character.  I think most of us are quite aware if we are gentle or brash.  I know I have a vile temper and I work hard to go Zen when I feel it rising within me.  Other things are easy.  Enjoying the beauty of my gardens is an example of that.

Living gently is relative.  So is living greatly.  It doesn’t mean becoming a king or winning an Oscar…..it means being a good person of service to others.  Too many times, people try to be good for goodness sake.  That’s not enough.  That doesn’t reach far enough into one’s soul and touch the core of how we are all connected.  Even though I don’t consider myself a Christian, I still like some of things attributed to Jesus.   He understood the connection of one to the all.  It wasn’t a trick.  It is wisdom made available to everyone.  Jesus (and many many others) used that and used it well.  The problem with being a beacon of kindness is that you are often misunderstood, ridiculed, and often destroyed.  Greatness is not power.  Power is not greatness.  Greatness is love.

I put some fresh rosemary on my altar this morning.  Thank you, Friend Pam for the lovely plant that is flourishing in the front yard.  It serves to remind me to slow down and take time to enjoy the smallest of things, for they are just as great as what we perceive to be bigger.  Yes, even people like me can have a spiritual side that doesn’t support the concepts of organized religion.    Not that it’s my place to tell people what to do…..but I think the world would be a better place if people examined their own relationship to God, universal truth, Big Energy…..whatever the name.  Too many people huddle in masses and accept a doctrine that someone else tells them is right.  What happens when the heart clashes with what is being taught or told?  It is through our doubt that we discover the truth of who we are.   Refusing to allow doubt or questioning into the equation of belief keeps us small.  It keeps us safe. 

The Buddha made no reference to living greatly…..just gently.  For it is in gentleness that we find our power to be compassionate, to forgive, to learn, to accept, and to love without condition. 

Time to smell the rosemary.  I will brush it across my fingers and hands and take it with me all day.  To remember who I am and why I am here.

22 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

22 responses to “Wisdom of the Buddha

  1. susanna

    Spot on old girl! That being said by a very, very old girl. xo

  2. joanie

    Well said.. This reminded me of one of my all-time favorite lines in a McCartney song “And in the end…the love you take…is equal to the love you make. Great song. Abbey Road “The End”

  3. Beautifully put. If we all learned to live gently the world would be a utopia. Wishful thinking? Maybe – but no less true.

  4. Did you tuck a bit of the Rosemary in your bag for rememberance?
    When a dear friend was dying of AIDS I first heard the phrase, “In the end, all that’s important is love.” Perhaps giving love is important too.

    Many hugs and lots of laughter.

  5. I love this post, Poolie. Reminds me that I need to quiet down, inside and out.

  6. It’s a good quote. Not being a Christian doesn’t mean you can’t agree with some Christian ideals. Or Jewish or Muslim or anything else. We are more alike than different and, as Gandhi said, “Friendship does not require oneness of opinion.”

  7. Patty O'Reilly

    Paula, that is your best post yet. Thank you.

  8. You are on quite a roll this AM.

  9. Great quote. My personal favorite is from Gandhi: “An eye for an eye makes the whole world blind.” I also like: “The full measure of a man’s (or woman’s) character is what he/she would do if he/she knew they would never be found out.”

Leave a Reply

