Productive Day at Casa de Pirate

Captain’s Log    5,665

It’s done!  We got the people we needed for the show!  YAY!  We even cast the one difficult role that seemed impossible!  In fact, we had three more people show up and we needed, so Sally and I spent the day casting the show, sending out emails to everyone, and then we re-wrote the entire script and added three more characters.  I was amazed that we actually accomplished that in two sittings.  Act One – Lunch – Act Two.  WOW!

It’s not rocket science to do something like that.  It’s not a walk in the park, either.  Continuity becomes problematic with changes this significant.  But, in the end, we are happy.  We added 10% to the script AND we boosted the cast size by quite a bit.  If this had not been original work, I would not have considered it, but because everyone there last night was so enthusiastic, we decided to make the show bigger to accommodate them.

And now, after such a productive day, I am ready to tackle my second job at the doctor’s office.  Time for filing, filing, filing.  

The electrician was here yesterday fixing smoke detectors and timers for the outside lights, etc.  He even fixed the hose winder box thing and almost did it right (except he cut the wrong end of the leader hose off and that was a problem).  Two extra trips to Home Depot and we had it back under control.

It was nice to come last night around 11:30 and have welcome lights on by the garage door.  Those haven’t worked for years, and now they do.  He also added some flood lights to the back patio.  It’s bright enough to remove an appendix out there now.  Good stuff.

One of the company members had everyone over for drinks and snacks after the auditions last night.  We started telling Catholic school stories and I almost fell out of my chair laughing.  If you haven’t gone through it, it might not be as funny.  But for those of us who did…..it was hilarious!  I talked about how I confessed adultery (an average of 37 times a month) until I was about 12 years old and a visiting priest actually told me what adultery was all about.  I assumed it was looking at crotch bulges and thinking about being naked.  I had no idea it was having sex with a married man.   And yes, I told the story about lingering with my washcloth too.  I didn’t know what that meant either.  I thought it meant “to loiter.”  Why on earth someone would stand around with a washcloth and spend time kicking back made absolutely no sense to me.  But hey, it was great fodder for the stories last night.

Gotta go to work now.  Switching gears.

14 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

14 responses to “Productive Day at Casa de Pirate

  1. If you are going to tell stories like that, you will need to wear your depends.

    Yes, we want to take you off to “Tender Green’s” for a lunch or dinner. They say they have Vegan choices, oh hurrah. And too, I really want to thank you for the book and for the visits. You brighten up my life.

    My mirror blog is now here: http://magespostcards.wordpress.com/

    It only took me two days to figure out how to add a blog roll, and three days of screaming to diiscover that only one of the two media links offered a space to insert a URL. 🙂

  2. joanie

    Very exciting! Can’t wait to see the show!

  3. Sounds like lots of fun! The production, not the catholic school.

  4. That’s absolutely wonderful! I’m glad you found enough talented – and dedicated! – people to more than fill the bill. I bet it’ll be a huge hit 😀

  5. Patty O'Reilly

    What a wonderful casting experience and agree totally with golfwidow! Fell over laughing at your Catholic school tales of confession. Oh my, but you were a creative genius even then…

  6. I love that you wrote in three extra roles instead of disappointing anyone. I wish all auditions could be like that. I wish life could be like that.

  7. Penny Tushingham

    So glad your show has started on such a high note with so much interest!

    Pen Pen

Leave a Reply

