The Play is 75% Written and I Am a Master Hot Dog Shunner

Captain’s Log   5,657

The script is 3/4 written!  Rough but there.  There are some zappers in there.  Really good ones.  If all goes according to plan, we will have this ready to deliver on Tuesday at the company board meeting.  By the time we finish it up and add all the stage directions and stuff, we should hit around 35 pages.  Our finished-writing-for-now treat last night was Mexican hot chocolate that Sally made from half-and-half, a bittersweet Dutch chocolate bar, my homemade vanilla, brown sugar, cinnamon, and a sprinkling of chili powder.  Holy mommacita!  It was the most delicious hot chocolate I have ever tasted in my entire life!  So rich!  I felt like a Roman in a toga sitting around in my decadent world.  I had to drink a glass of water to get the fuzzy feeling off my teeth.  You know it’s good when your teeth get fuzzy.

I finished this book in one day.  Big Sister Mia lent it to me.  I had been wanting to read it.  Oh, my goodness!  It’s amazing!

gone girl

A real mind-fooker

It’s full of quirky turns and surprises.  Just when you think you might have it figured out.  You don’t.  It’s being adapted as a film in 2015.  I will not miss it!

Another one on my list when it’s released is The Butler.  It’s the true story of a White House butler named Cecil Gaines who serves for 34 years.  The cast is incredible.  Forest Whitaker, Jane Fonda, Robin Williams, Oprah Winfrey, Vanessa Redgrave, etc.   Big Sister Mia and I saw the previews and we were speechless.  Can’t wait.

I love movies.  Love love love movies!  But I only love them on the big screen.  If they are on TV, then I only sort of like them.  I am a snob about movies.  And about coffee.  But I really like my coffee as just….coffee.   Try ordering that at a Starbucks.  And did you know Starbucks makes a “short” cup?  It’s not on the menu and you have to ask for it.  It’s only $1.  With coffee as strong as Starbucks, a short is more than enough.

And don’t get me started on their stupid size thing.  Tall is small.  Grande is medium.  Venti is large.  And then they have that HUGE one that makes no sense at all.  I think it would fill a regular thermos.  Maybe they should call it TERMOS.  That sounds faux Italian, right?

Our mayor continues to be a world-class asshat.  I am so embarrassed right now.  San Diego has become the biggest joke around.   And trust me, his idiocy is starting to have a trickle-down effect.  People are not so quick to hop on planes or book events here.  We are a joke.  Until this settles down and he leaves office, the damage will continue.  People here are speculating that he will go through his 14 days of treatment, find out he has a “medical” condition, and then resign for health reasons.  That’s the guess around the water cooler.  We have a water cooler at the museum but we really only use it to make coffee.  We tend to gather at the mezzanine rail and do our gossiping there.

I have to give a speech tonight.  I was on the radio yesterday (internet feed  to Vermont).  It’s so neat that you can be on the radio all the way across the country like that.  I was on public radio in Australia once too when San Diego was on fire in 2007.  Miss Hiss (anyone remember her?) set it up with her friend who is a producer.  The time change was interesting.  I went on the air about 8:30 in the evening and talked about how San Diego was surrounded by fire on three sides.  I had about 90 minutes to prepare, so I spent that time converting everything into metric so I would sound moderately intelligent for the Aussies.  Acres into hectares.  That kind of thing.   Not sure if I sounded intelligent or not, but they did run the piece that night in Queensland and then all across Australia the next day.  How fun!

Tonight’s speech is in conjunction with a hot dog fest.  I tell ya, the romance of this job is never-ending.  100 guys eating hot dogs and listening to me babble on about the museum.  I will discreetly avoid eating a hot dog and make the most of the chips and soda.  I have become so adept at avoiding meat at events that most people never even notice I am a vegetarian.  I rather like that.  It’s like guerrilla warfare of the soul.  Quietly bringing down the meat industry one shunned hot dog at a time.

 

 

12 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

12 responses to “The Play is 75% Written and I Am a Master Hot Dog Shunner

  1. Woohoo for coming so far on the play! I bet it’s fantastic 🙂

    And as to the asshat in office, he’s just the latest to be caught. They’re pretty much all asshats.

  2. You are magic…as are your cohorts. 🙂

    Naw, I think we will see him hanging on no matter what by the skin of his teeth. Resigning would have been too good a thing for the city. GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRrrrrrrrrrrraaaaa

  3. I find veggie hot dogs less than satisfying. I think I would rather just put the mustard and sauerkraut directly on the bun…

    When you are going to be on the radio, could you find out whether that particular station streams online. Many of them do…and we can pick them up on the computer. I want to hear you knock ’em dead.

  4. bholles

    Glad your play is coming along.

  5. Penny Tushingham

    Don’t they make veggie hot dogs?

    Pen Pen

Leave a Reply

