The Playwright Zone

Captain’s Log   5,654

We did it!  We finished the first act!  Go us!  Powered by sandwiches from Capriotti’s, Cheetos, and some killer coconut and chocolate frozen yogurt, we knocked it out of the park!  Even the read-back was funny.  So many times things are hilarious when you write them and completely uninteresting when you read them back.  The difference between writing a book and a play is the words.  They are meant to be spoken.  If the dialogue is too stumbling and fumbling, the scene won’t work.  We have a few stumble spots that we will have to clean up for the actors, but overall…..we are happy!

dark and stormy night

Oooh!  Yeah!  Love those dark and stormy nights!

plays the thing

It’s the only thing right now.  Totally focused on this project.

the_playwright_zone

It’s a good place for me right now.  Desperately in need of a creative channel.

Off to a meeting with another benefactor.  Love that too.   A friend from my Maritime Museum days is stopping by this afternoon.  Dinner with Mage and Geezer tonight at the rehab facility.  Twirl twirl twirl.

11 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

11 responses to “The Playwright Zone

  1. Of course, it will be brilliant! I’m sure the second act will be even better than the first and just as much fun writing it too. Can you throw in a running gag about the unseen neighbor with the Frebreze spray bottle? Kind of like the neighbor on Home Improvement…Willson W. Willson Jr?

  2. Plays mystify me. I can write prose ’til the cows come home. Friends have tried convincing me to write a play and won’t accept it when I point out it’s an entirely different process and one about which I know less than nothing.

    You, on the other hand, are an absolute wizard at writing dialogue and music and so much more. I eventually want to see another of your creations!!!

    • poolagirl

      I’m going to email you my script. I think you might get a paying out of it. Now it’s 4 o’clock in the morning and I’m trying to do voice to text. You would get a day out of it. Of baying out of it. A big bang. Upgrading on with it. Oh fuck it.

  3. susanna

    Love that twirl, twirl, twirl. Now that’s great in a book but not so good as dialogue, am I getting the picture?

  4. Love, love love. I even heard of something about a table. OOOOOOOOOOoooooooooooooooo

Leave a Reply

