The Party’s Over……..(sad)

Captain’s Log   5,643

Can you say 73 people?  I think that was the final number.  I am going over my list.  I might have missed a few.

I had no idea 73 people would show up at my house.  I will admit I am flattered.  And quite joyful.  Some guy brought his wife.  I had never met her, so when I turned around in the garage and saw this strange woman emerging from the bomb shelter, I was quite stunned.  I thought for a minute she might have taken up residence down there.

The crickets definitely took up residence.  I have been seeing crickets all over the garage these last few weeks, and when the shelter door was opened, the whole door area was filled with them.  I don’t think they cause any harm.  They can live in the bomb shelter.  Nice to know it’s being used.

Febreze Lady stayed quiet.  All is good.

Off to work!

26 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

26 responses to “The Party’s Over……..(sad)

  1. Susanna

    It was a fabulous party with so many interesting people chatting in all the various areas. Had I not been on pain pills which make it hard for me to find my vocabulary I would have met more of the lovely people gathered there.
    Authors, actors, painters, all manner of creative people and real down home fun loving folks. A reflection of the hostess!

  2. What? No photos of the crush and crickets. No, you don’t want to keep those.

    • poolagirl

      I didn’t snap a single one! Too busy yakking and giving tours of the cricket-infested hole in the garage!

  3. poundheadhere

    I’m so glad your party was a success. And a bit puzzled, because I recall an earlier post about the discomfort in large crowds and parties. Did I misunderstand or transpose someone else’s post with one of yours? I could have sworn it was you! (For what it’s worth, I break out in a cold sweat at the prospect of parties so I sympathized,)

  4. Patti Paris

    It was wonderful. So very good to see you, my dear!

  5. Valerie

    **Sigh** Wish I lived close enough to enjoy the festivities!

  6. joanie

    What a great party and what a wonderful job you’ve one in the house! Dave and I had a super time talking with people we knew and meeting those we didn’t. Also, enjoyed watching the birds come in for a landing. Hardly ever get to see that. No wonder you like it so much! Thanks for having us.

  7. Sounds like a good time really was had by all…..I’m so glad you got to be yourself and show off your little treasured home…including the yard.

  8. Penny Tushingham

    I was thinking of you all day and wishing you a smashing party. Sounds like my wishes for you came true.

    Pen Pen

  9. maryz

    Sounds like a great time was had by all – even the Febreze Lady. BTW, was she invited?

  10. Patty O'

    It was a grand party with nice and interesting people. I especially like meeting sister Mia, who apparently has a REAL name. Who knew? Your home is lovely and the garden is a revelation. LUCKY birds!

    • poolagirl

      Yes, Mia has a real name. She rather likes her nickname better than her real name though. She answers to either one.

  11. bholles

    It was a very fun party.

Leave a Reply

