Time to Bite the Sharks

Captain’s Log   5,638

My morning person-ness is starting to bother even me.  WAY too much energy first thing in the morning.  Before 6:30 this morning, I had managed to fill the bird feeders, fold a load of laundry, start another load in the dryer, put away dishes, make coffee, sweep the floors, water the plants, make more hummingbird nectar, disinfect the hummingbird feeder, sweep the patio, make my bed, iron my pants, and tidy up the living room.  Some people don’t do that in a whole day, and I had done it in less than 45 minutes.  Something is wrong.

Something is also wrong (for real) with our justice system.  A black woman in Florida gets 20 years for firing a warning shot against her abuser in self defense.  A black teen in Florida is killed in “self defense” and the shooter goes free.  The shooter will also get his gun back.  Pardon me if I don’t grasp this well.  She fires a WARNING SHOT and gets 20 years.  He shoots a kid point blank in the chest and walks away.  Umm……..  How is this fair?  This is so damn sad.  I guess the best thing to do if you are feeling threatened is to kill the person who is allegedly threatening you.  That way, nobody can argue the point.  This  may hold true with all misunderstandings.  If I don’t like the neighbor’s dog barking late at night, I should just go shoot the neighbor in “self defense” of my peace of mind?  Or should I shoot the dog?  Or both the dog and the neighbor?  The broad application of twisted logic just doesn’t make sense with the barking dog or the Zimmerman case.

This is why I could never be a lawyer.  I would be like Atticus Finch sitting in front of the jail all night with a shotgun across my lap.

And…..you could bring a damn GUN into the Texas capitol but you couldn’t bring in a maxi pad or a tampon?  How about a gun that fires tampons?

tampon cannon

You thought I was kidding

I fail to see the logic in these things.  As I get older, logic become more important to me.  I always thought if I became a logical I would lose my sense of artistic freedom.  I realize how that the application of logic in defense of these asshats is the only way to maintain my artistic freedom.  It is time once again to bite the sharks.

20 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

20 responses to “Time to Bite the Sharks

  1. I work at the Texas Capitol and it is true that there is an “express line” that employees with security clearance and concealed weapon holders can pass through and avoid the metal detectors. Many lobbyist obtained CCL’s just to bypass the delay of emptying their pockets every day when entering the capitol.

  2. I agree with you on Zimmerman’s verdict. It’s cowardly and calculated to make a lot of money for the jurors, one of whom has already announced intent to pen a book.

    Our injustice system needs a complete overhaul. Unfortunately that begins with honest politicians. Pardon me while I don’t hold my breath.

  3. maryz

    Want to come live at my house? I hate to clean.

  4. I can in my befuddledness tell you that you are just nesting. As an expert at this, I might mention that you this might last a while. It’s ok too.

  5. I wish I had your energy. And, if you load your tampons into a shotgun, you can carry them in Texas and no one will know or care.

  6. I think you are cleaning up your home in an almost frantic way because it is one place that you can control. I expect once you are away from that workplace drama, you will relax and actually sleep again for long periods of time.
    As for the justice system, we have gone 100 years backward. Women are not valued at all again and our rights are being directed by the good old boy network who wants to keep us in our place. And yes, the injustice of treatment and punishment between the states is a joke.

  7. Patty O'

    With you all the way. Too much housework; not enough justice. And I say that as a white woman who was robbed at gunpoint by a young black man. Asshats come in all colors. The only way we should discriminate is between right and wrong. Alas, there is much in our poor old world that is wrong these days…

  8. You said a lot of what I said. (Always gratifying to find a kindred spirit.) But I will repeat something I said elsewhere — not a widely open site.

    In my personal opinion, if a man with a gun got out of his car and said, “I am not threatening you,” I would still feel threatened.

  9. bholles

    You are out of control with cleaning.

Leave a Reply

