Landscaping Looks Grand

Captain’s Log   5,613

The landscaping is finally starting to fill out and look nice.  It took some time for the roots to settle.  I was outside this morning in my bare feet just loving the grass and the roses.

house front

Sweet jasmine, pygmy date palms, day lilies, hibiscus, roses, and snow bushes

Everything smells divine!

house back

Plants too numerous to mention.  Ferns galore.

A private Garden of Eden

I am so happy just to be home with my gardens and my books.  After a long day, it certainly feels nice to just sit and enjoy the sunset while the hummingbirds zip and zoom for control of the feeder.  Have a light meal.  Burn some incense to relax my mind.  When nightfall comes, the twinkling solar lights transform the place into a fairyland.

Someone asked me the other day if I am going to get a dog.  The answer is no.  I gave myself a few months to see how life would be without a dog in the house, and I adjusted very well.  What I like the best is being able to stay away from the house as long as I want without the worry.  That is a huge trade off for me.   I can just go go go.  When Sally and I went to rehearsal together the other night, we changed the meeting plans and I did not have to go home first to be a dog mom.  That was wonderful!  I lived with dogs for 38 years, and that was a good run.   I love dogs with all my heart, I just don’t want the responsibility of owning one anymore.  I guess the same thing happens when you become a grandparent.  You love the kids but you aren’t the mom.

It’s a long day today.  I have to give a speech tonight which means I won’t get home until around 9:00 or so.

I have been keeping up with all the hateful backlash against the recent Cheerios commercial that features a bi-racial family.  Good GOD!  So many haters out there.  I found this parody on AOL this morning.  Hope you laugh as much as I did.

“Denise!  Disable the YouTube comments!”  Hilarious!  But also sad that this is 2013.  Feels  more like 1813.

22 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

22 responses to “Landscaping Looks Grand

  1. No dogs, no cats, no birds…except for the thousands of parrots outside in the trees. No hiring pet sitters. No crating the critters. We have always had a fur person, and in many way I miss them all. Not again tho.

    Maybe August will be a good time for a house warming. 🙂

  2. The garden looks divine, in all meanings of the word. Your own little slice of heaven!

    I didn’t realize you were without canines at home now. No more roomies? That’s a big change in itself!

  3. Your garden is just beautiful! I like to think of you there, reading and chilling xx

  4. I’m still thinking at times about another pet but right now; it is much better not to have that responsibility. Love the yard…it looks so beautiful. Loved the parody of the Cheerios commercial too…….yes THAT version would really draw the nasty comments.

  5. Penny Tushingham

    I hadn’t heard about the Cherrios up roar but then again, I stay away from most negative stuff. Your yard is beautiful. Can’t wait to see it next year and you got yourself a table too. Nice for sitting at and eating rice pudding. Don’t think I will ever be dogless but 2 would be much easier to board so I could travel more. I might not get up in the morning if I didn’t have to feed dogs! Enjoy your patio!

    Pen Pen

  6. maryz

    p.s. We may get to San Diego again toward the end of August. 8^)

  7. maryz

    No more pets for us, either. I like the grandparent/grandchild analogy. And your garden is wonderful. I love the covered patio.

  8. Patty O'

    The garden is AMAZING! I would never want to leave it. I would also want to adopt the landscaper so he could never get away… As for Dogs, no more for me either for a variety of reasons. But I was a big dog person, too. I fondly remember Breezy the Weimaraner who was Nanny to 3 children, Big All the Monster yellow Lab who came to live with me “in retirement”, and Betsy the Doberman, who taught me patience…belatedly, I admit. May all our former Fur Persons rest in peace.

  9. I would love to have a dog again. But then I remember the cold — or wet or both — mornings when I got up early and dressed warm enough to walk the dog before I got ready for work. Sure, later in the day someone else might feed him, but he knew he was my dog. And I don’t want a teacup dog; I would want another big lovable dawg that would stand up and put his paws on my shoulders.

Leave a Reply

