Bastards in the Game

Captain’s Log   5,608

Yes, I am LOVING Game of Thrones!  Never ever thought I would say that.  I carry it with me all over the house.  Nothing like a nice, fat epic novel of 800+ pages to keep you happy.  With three more waiting.  Maybe four more.  Maybe five.  I have no idea how many books are in the series.  I don’t care.  I will read them.

There are so many bastards in this story that it’s hard to keep track.  I mean….bastards sired by kings.  Bastards who don’t really count as family but then counting a hell of a lot later……as bastards in stories like this are wont (neener)  to do.

I like Jon.  He’s a great bastard.  And he has a great companion, Ghost, an enormous wolf creature who guards him fiercely.  Bastards with enormous wolf creatures are my favorite.

game of thrones 2

Nice doggy.  Nice bastard son.

Jon is apparently ready to take some sort of vow that will require him to be celibate for the rest of his life.  Somehow, I don’t think that will hold up.  

I think there are a lot more bastards on the horizon.  I fully intend to curl up on the sofa tonight and discover more of this amazing world created by Mr. Martin.  I am duly impressed.

 

12 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

12 responses to “Bastards in the Game

  1. You are hooked…..endlessly. We forgot to discuss this.

  2. Ter

    Oh, enjoy! There will be times, trust me, down the line in other books when you’ll want to throw said books across a room. Me, I listened to the audio books on my ridiculous commute. Imagine the road rage then!

  3. My son read them and kept telling me to, but I ignored him. Well, if Poolie says its a good read, that’s good enough for me! Sorry, son!! 🙂

  4. Glad to hear you’re enjoying the stories. There are so far five books in the series, and the author is working on the 6th now. I think his goal is seven in total, but he commented recently that he’s writing like a madman because the TV show is catching up fast!

  5. Patty O'

    Isn’t it lovely when the bastards in your life are FICTIONAL and not the ones you have to deal with in real life each day?

  6. Penny Tushingham

    Ghost looks like Yazz

    Pen pen

Leave a Reply

