Deli Food is TOO Much For Me

Captain’s Log   5,602

I went out to dinner with a friend last night to a Jewish deli that serves up enough food to feed and entire country.  I just can’t eat like that anymore.  I had two scrambled eggs, potatoes, and a bagel.  I was so stuffed that I couldn’t even eat half of the potatoes.  WAY too much food.  As I get older, I realize that my food needs are changing.  Small meals are perfectly fine.  I would rather eat light than feel compromised until 2:00 AM from the food.

The sandwiches at this place are so big they are almost gross.  See?

triple_decker

A bit excessive, don’t you think?

The desserts are even more over the top.  Check out the cream puff.

cream puff

I have never had one of these and I never want one either.  Might as well grab a can of whipped cream and just eat it.  Gag!

So fuddy-duddy me is about to take off for a day of adventure with Big Sister Mia.  Any day that includes COSTCO is bound to be fun.  The car wash too.  Wonder of wonders.

31 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

31 responses to “Deli Food is TOO Much For Me

  1. I like that deli, but there’s an art to eating there for me. I order a single product sandwich. All the food shows at the open end of the sandwich, I discovered. If I redistribute it all, I find a reasonably sized sandwich. And or, I don’t have to eat both slices of bread. Then again, that creme puff is heaven. Actually. LOL

    George is down with a cold, so you don’t want to see us.

  2. joanie

    Been there too. Can’t even get your mouth around those sandwiches. Why not just pile up all the ingredients on the plate because that’s how it ends up.

  3. I love the Jewish deli, too … the only one left in our area, however, I order HALF sandwiches. Most of them will do that. I think even they realize that the “gezundta” sandwich isn’t as healthy as it used to be. (Also, if I sub coleslaw for potatoes, it tends to be a small enough portion for me to eat.)

  4. goatbarnwitch

    Meshugganah that sandwich is

  5. The deli sandwich looks just about right for two or three people to split it. For one person – no, of course not!

  6. Patty O'

    Yup. Portions are getting smaller and smaller for me, too. But there is still nothing quite like a good Kosher deli sandwich…even if it takes 3 days to eat it!

  7. Oh, for the love of God!!!!who eats like that??!!

  8. Valerie

    I especially like the 2 little extra squirts of whipped cream on the plate because, clearly, there’s not enough whipped cream in the cream puff!

  9. I could feel my arteries slamming shut just looking at the pictures.

  10. The food of my childhood — the kosher deli was the only restaurant in town where we were allowed to go. But I can’t eat like that any more either. When I’m offered potatoes with my eggs, I ask for fruit or a sliced tomato instead. If I order a sandwich, I’ll plan to take most of it home.

    But it still tastes wonderful!

  11. Now that’s a sandwich! I could make about 3 meals out of that…..hope you and Mia had a great day together…….lots of catching up to do, I imagine. Not to mention visiting the book store to pick up Mia’s latest selections.

  12. bholles

    I love that Jewish deli.

Leave a Reply

