Homes on the Canal

Captain’s Log     5,591

We made it back from the Netherlands in one piece.  The flight from Amsterdam presented a few obstacles, but we got to Chicago with enough daylight left to enjoy a bit of sun.  I forced myself to stay awake until 8:00 and then I crashed.

My friend Pam was waiting for me at the airport.  Not only did she pick me up, she also supplied me with milk, bread, fruit, and juice to get me going this morning.  How very nice!  I didn’t have to go out for groceries!  She had also taken care of my birds, and when they ate more good than I had planned for, she went to the store and got more.  I was very appreciative of that.  I assumed I would have tons of energy when I got off the plane, but I was completely wrong.

Several packages had arrived during my absence, and this was the best.  It’s from my friend, Jean who lives in my hometown.  I admired hers so she made me one for my front door!

cute wreath

How festive!  YAY!

The trip was completely and totally amazing.  Going through photographs helps me piece it all together for memory’s sake.  I don’t even know where to begin.  So I will just start somewhere with some amazing photographs.  We visited a village that has lots of canals with gorgeous homes along their banks.  You access the homes via bridges that span the different waterways.  I was completely enchanted.

100_1310

Everyone gets around on foot or by boat.  Amazing!

100_1305

How adorable is this?

100_1321

You walk to the bridge to get your mail.  How cute!

100_1330

I could get used to living like this!

100_1328

Some of the restaurants offered canal cruises.  Very quaint.

100_1320

Saw a lot of trees chopped off like this – all over the place.  Interesting way to landscape, eh?

100_1319

Love the old tree rotting away by the bridge.  Adds character.  I think a family of ducks has taken up residence inside.

We also enjoyed watching the semi-finals of Eurovision while we were there.  It’s a huge song contest that has been around since 1957.  It’s a huge event and it was held in Sweden this year.  The Netherlands was represented by an amazing songwriter known simply as Anouk.  She didn’t win the competition, but here is her haunting and captivating song.  We heard it on the radio all the time.  I really love it.

So now it’s back to business.  I’m not even back yet and I am planning my next day off – next Monday.

20 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

20 responses to “Homes on the Canal

  1. jane

    Not sure I liked the video 😦 But did you know starlings flying in a huge group/flock like that is called a murmuration? There are some great examples on whatsitube!

  2. I wonder if they have a canal garbage boat? You know, to take the trash away?

  3. Not so glad to be home will have to do. We are glad to have you here. Dinner….you call it. Pictures, marvelous. A new trip. More marvelous. 🙂

  4. I love those canal houses. Very jealous.

    The thing about that wreath is knowing that there is another one out there with all the mates.

  5. Love the little houses by the canals. I think those places would be so charming to live in……I liked the song but the video was so sad….Glad you are home again.

  6. Valerie

    I’m so happy to see your blog! The pictures of the canal homes are awesome! Maybe there’s something in our Dutch DNA that makes them especially appealing. I read some of your previous posts – you’re a wonderful writer; I’m looking forward to reading more from you!

  7. Penny Tushingham

    Absolutely beautiful homes on the canal. It would be like living in peace 24/7.
    Pen Pen

  8. Patty O'

    Welcome home! I’m looking forward to seeing you tomorrow morning and have a new HH80 treasure to share with everyone! YAY!

  9. Sounds as if it’s all good. I’m glad you’re home and safe.

  10. maryz

    Glad you had such a wonderful time. The canal houses are amazing! I could live like that, too (except for all the walking, of course). Forget the next day off – when is your next trip?

    • poolagirl

      My next trip is with DeAnn, the friend who went with me to the Netherlands. She just retired and is driving all across the western side of the United States. She should get here sometime around September (maybe August). I will hit the road with her and see how much trouble we can find!

Leave a Reply

