One Day Closer!

Captain’s Log  5,575

In just 27 hours, my ride will be here to take me to the airport.  Heinous is packed and ready to go.  He travels light.  He’s even got a new bag.

heinous Bag

He certainly gets around!

I am busy charging up the Kindle and cameras and making sure I have all my stuff.  I am taking mostly casual clothing and one pair of dress slacks in case we decide to fancy up for anything.  Queen Beatrix abdicated her throne today, so she might be available for lunch.

queen beatrix

Such a classy lady!

So I should probably dress up a bit for the queen.  Anneke is working on getting together for lunch.  Maybe a stroll around the canals too.  Heinous is really pushing for this lunch date.  I think he wants to show her his card tricks.

We are going to the palace!  It’s part of the museum pass thing.  I can’t wait!  I have never seen a palace before!

Amsterdam-in-Netherlands_Royal-Palace-in-Dam-Square_2841

Must be a bitch to clean.

I know we will see canals.  I had better walk far enough from the edge.  One good bump or jostle and I would definitely fall in.  Ask anyone who knows me.

canal_0

Can you believe cars park that close to the edge?

And flowers flowers flowers!  How I love flowers!  They are sure to be everywhere!

FlowerMarket

So lush and green and full of life!

Canals are everywhere.  Not just the city.

Giethoorn

Imagine this in your back yard!

Anneke and Bert live in IJmuiden, a seaport village with lots and lots of BOATS!  And the ferry to Newcastle sails from there!  Hooray!

ijmuiden

Who is excited?????

One more post before Chicago.  I hope to post every day from the Netherlands.  That is my goal.  I bought a special download cable for my small digital camera to make posting easier.  Hope it works!

22 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

22 responses to “One Day Closer!

  1. This is going to be so damned exciting. Yes, it will work. Mine does. You are going to have a grand time….thanks for taking us along.

  2. poundheadhere

    You should know that the queen of the Netherlands just stepped down and the regent is now her son, Willem-Alexander, the first king on the throne in 120 years. Her Majesty must have realized you were coming and decided to allow herself extra time so she could meet with you!

    The trip will be amazing. You are going to have so much fun!!

  3. Susanna McGrath

    They have all said it….we get to experience another adventure with you. I’m grateful you are so gifted to send off quick reports, pictures, and updates. It’s a blessing for all of us. Danka Shorvdga.

  4. Edie

    Sounds like a great adventure. Have a good time.

  5. goatbarnwitch

    I can’t wait to see your pictures and read about your adventures!

  6. farmgirl

    Have a safe, blessed and absolutely enjoyable trip!! Hugs to my cuz and Anneke please!! We await your journey thru pictures!!

  7. Patty O'

    I am SO glad you are going to be posting! I will be watching for every single one. HAVE A BALL!

  8. maryz

    I’m sure the Queen will be looking for something to do with her free time. Maybe she’ll be your tour guide.

  9. Oh boy oh boy oh boy! I get to take another vicarious trip. You will have a wonderful time, and I will enjoy along with you. 8)

  10. Penny Tushingham

    I feel like we all will be with you. Just not able to smell the flowers!

    Pen pen

  11. bholles

    Are you excited or what?

Leave a Reply

