Don’t Tell Me About Your Private Plane

Captain’s Log   5,574

I want to go to work about as much as I want to clean grout with a toothbrush.  Actually, that grout thing doesn’t sound too bad after the debacle I endured on Friday.  Name dropping…..making references to a wealthy lifestyle that simply does not exist, etc.  All in an attempt to impress someone who really does have money.  Saying things like “I never fly commercially anymore – only private jets.”  Give me a break!  My favorite was “I don’t DO grocery stores!”  Well la-dee-fookin-la-la-la!

margaret-hamilton-the-wicked-witch-in-the-wizard-of-oz_edit

My luncheon companion

It was so embarrassing.  Fortunately, the person with the real money saw right through the facade and decided to discuss books with me instead.  We had a grand time discussing Fifty Shades of Grey.  Leaving Margaret Hamilton in the dust.  It is always SOOOO obvious to me when I am around someone who doesn’t read and I see a place to step in and redirect the focus.   Stops their momentum instantly.  Leaves them in my intellectual dust.  And I enjoy every minute of it when someone deserves to be left standing there looking bewildered.  I don’t care how much money you pretend to have, if you don’t read, you don’t have the intellectual chops it takes to maintain intelligent conversation.  Period.  End.  Go back under your rock.

I am getting ready for my trip!  YAY!  Since I am so allergic to dyes, I always have to wash everything in scent-free soap before I wear it.  That was the fate of my new underwear.  I also decided to wash all the capri pants I am taking just because…..just because.  I want to know everything in my suitcase is freshly-laundered.  I love doing laundry.  Not kidding.

Off to the salt mines to pretend I am focused and working hard.  That is SO not true.  My eye is on the prize!  I get picked up about 11:30 Wednesday morning and head out for Chicago.  First stop on this amazing adventure!

17 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

17 responses to “Don’t Tell Me About Your Private Plane

  1. I get to suffer those kinds of conversations every time I get around my sister’s husband. According to him, he is the most well-known person in all of Minnesota. Who sells cars. What’s more sad is that my sister, being the good spouse, is proud of his fake successes. Blecch!

    Safe travels, my friend!

  2. I love laundry too……fresh smelling items that fold so nicely (except for those darn fitted sheets ~ I never could do it as well as Martha Stewart). I will be thinking of you tomorrow as you fly just North West of us….and then on to Amsterdam….

  3. I’m sorry you have to deal with such a pretentious jerk. What a sad, pathetic life to regurgitate so much verbal bile

  4. jo

    Me thinks the wanna bees who would “lie” to look stuip are very insecure. Persons with assets are still people not generally only a social class- be sure to post in Amsterdam

  5. Patty O'

    I have met that awful person before! The wealthiest person I have ever known was also the kindest, sweetest, most humble, and most hardworking. Some people work harder as volunteers out of a sense of social responsibility than any of us sloggers ever did for pay. I’m glad you left her in the dust.

    Oh. Bon Voyage. Even though green with envy I wish you a happy time. Now I will go sulk…

  6. I hope you are flying business or first class. There’s rooms for all your books in first.

    I wonder where she got the money to dig her garage?

    Reading, reading here. It’s the only grasp of sanity in the midst of it all. I can see the chairs now. By the time you get back, maybe we will be able to have you to dinner.

  7. I love to do laundry when we are down the shore in the house we rent every year. Every night I wash every piece of laundry that has touched anyone’s body! Love it!

  8. “I’m so happy you have the means. How much will you donate to the museum this year?” They will either shut up or mention an amount so low that they show their true colors.

  9. Penny Tushingham

    So looking forward to reading about your adventures, especially the toilets!

    Pen Pen

Leave a Reply

