Opening Week – Nothing Else Matters

Captain’s Log    5,505

Rehearsal was rather train wreckish yesterday.  I refused to help them when they got stuck.  They looked at me and I just smiled and said, “Figure it out.  I told you this was the day.”  I also told them they cannot just stand there and look stuck.  They have to do SOMETHING.  They will get it.  They have to.  I am thinking that I might have put them through too much rehearsal.  They haven’t landed on the edge and they should be there by now.  We move into the performance space today and they will all see the show for the first time.  This is the first time they have all been together since the first read-through back in early January.  I am excited for them to use the connection to crank up their performances.

Most interesting was the one actor who is WAY over confident.  This actor has not really given me the attention or respect that should be given a director, and guess what?  That actor collapsed yesterday.  I let it happen.  I let the actor dangle without a lifeline.  It was a good object lesson.  When it came time for notes at the end of the scene and suggestions to make it better, this actor was all ears and cooperation for the first time.  It’s like playing with matches.  You cannot warn a child about something being hot.  The child must experience that first-hand.   This actor has only been onstage once before and thought this was going to be easy.  This is not easy.  It’s very difficult, but once it clicks – you have a show.  It is my job to help the actors find that click spot.  I cannot help them if they ignore me.  So….yesterday I got completed and undivided attention from the entire cast.  The problem child was not playing with a telephone or gazing out the window.  The problem child joined the team.    Huzzah!

I bought my opening night thank-you cards and candy for the cast and crew.  It has certainly been an adventure!  It was a delight to sit down and write those cards because each person is so unique.  It was even easy to say something nice about the problem child.  I do admire spunk….even when it is misdirected and comes at the wrong time.  At least it’s there.

I have a week that should be very interesting.  We are going to do all the math today to see the actual numbers from the reception Friday night.  I hope we made at least SOME money.  I am taking this Friday off to get my hair done and fuss about opening night.  One must fuss.  

flyer

16 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

16 responses to “Opening Week – Nothing Else Matters

  1. goatbarnwitch

    Onward to a successful performance!

  2. Susanna

    Back in the saddle…what fun!

  3. scotvalkyrie

    Break a leg and Merdez!

  4. Huzzah!! I wish I were able to be here. Alas, bills and mobility have conspired against me… this time. By your next play I’ll have retired rich and invested in an ooga horn to get through crowds, lol.

  5. I am sure it will be great.

  6. joanie

    See you Friday. We must make you appear very Director-like. Maybe some thick-rimmed black glasses like Martin Scorsese. lol

  7. Patty O'Reilly

    To and actor: Break a leg.
    To an author: Break a pencil.
    What do Directors break? Wind?

  8. One must fuss. Of course! You have to give everyone in the show the same respect you want from them. I am too superstitious to wish you luck. But I do wish you fun.

Leave a Reply

