Hooker With the Inflatable Bed

Captain’s Log   5,501

I have the honor of meeting with representatives from the Smithsonian this morning to find out if we can get something from that esteemed institution to display in the museum in 2015.  That is the 100th birthday of the park, and the entire city is going nutzoid over this.  I am going to ask for one of their early electric cars.  Something like this.

early electric car

Riker.  Built about 1900.  Amazing.  The driver sat in the back in the high seat.

That would be beyond amazing.  We shall see.  If we have to pay for transport, the deal might not happen.  Transporting something like that could cost $20,000.  Might be out of the question.  

Rehearsals are going well!  Someone is letting us use a queen-sized inflatable bed!  That might not sound thrilling to most people, but it is to us.  We have trying to do the hooker scene using four folding chairs.  Not very effective.  Last night, the “hooker” had an entire bed to roll around on, and the effect was….dazzling.  As dazzling as a drunk hooker in a hotel room can be.  A drunk hooker who only moans and rolls.  I am the understudy for that role.  The difficult part is figuring out how to inflate the stupid thing.  I have a twin-sized inflatable, and the first time a guest used it, we fell apart laughing as we tried to make it inflate.  Cheap thrills at Casa de Pirate.

I am very appreciative for cheap thrills.  Just saying.  

And speaking of cheap….someone brought this to the annual gift exchange at the museum this past Christmas.  This was NOT supposed to be a crappy gift exchange.  It was supposed to be real.  The poor schmuck who got this hid it under one of the cars and went home.  I have been meaning to bring it home with me because I think it’s quite festive in a retro sort of way.  I mean, who doesn’t need a two-tone blue air pot?

retro pot

Stop being jealous.  And yes, I know it looks like some sort of sea creature because the “guts” had not been inserted and its cute little mouth is closed.  

I just love interior decorating.  Montana Penny is helping me.  We installed a purple guitar with orange flames over the kitchen cupboards last night.  Stop being jealous.

 

26 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

26 responses to “Hooker With the Inflatable Bed

  1. I hope the Smithsonian comes through in a big way. What a cool way to wrap up your tenure!

    And as to the air pot – I would probably actually like it. Once I figured out what to do with it, that is.

  2. scotvalkyrie

    I bet one of those schmucks on Shipping Wars will transport that car for you for a couple grand. Of course, it will be a couple days late and/ or damaged! XD

  3. I found a book on women’s spaces, but I don’t think you need to see it. You are in charge. Yes, it’s cute. Has the smithsonian have any cars here on the West coast? Hugs

  4. Doesn’t anyone throw hookers into pickup beds anymore? When did they start getting all high and mighty, needing things like “beds”? (I do like the idea of hookers having understudies, though. Seems pretty practical, from a business perspective.)

    I’d hate to have a guitar in my kitchen. I’d fret every time I cooked.

    • poolagirl

      Oh HARRR on you! Glad you like the understudy idea. I think you should understudy a role for us too. How about the manic tennis player with glass in his foot?

  5. bholles

    You are having way too much fun.

  6. goatbarnwitch

    I think you should name the creatue Puff the Magic Air Pot…..

  7. maryz

    What does one do with an “air pot”? It’s a serious question – the thing looks like one of those coffee dispensers in a motel breakfast bar.

    Getting that car from the Smithsonian would be huge. Good luck!

  8. joanie

    I have to come up and see the place after you’re finished decorating! Purple guitar with orange flames in the kitchen? Now THAT sounds interesting.

  9. Casa da la Pirate is getting “down”. I’m sure your decor will be one of a kind by the time you are finished. If you have a small vacumn ~ it might work to inflate the air mattress….

  10. Oh, the crazy eyes! I looked at today’s title and read…inflatable hooker. Well, I understand they do sell such things, but I couldn’t figure out what you’d be doing with it. Duh! 8)

    I can’t imagine hiding something under a car, in or out of a museum. Do those electrics have “body by Fisher”?

Leave a Reply

