Amsterdam On the Horizon

Captain’s Log   4,541

I was thinking about the upcoming trip to the Netherlands.   I could not be more thrilled!  The very idea of being away from home for two entire weeks is almost mind-boggling!

My friend and her hub unit live in IJmuiden, a town right on the sea.  Their home overlooks the sand dunes that are complete with wild horses.  Yes, indeed.  Wild horses.  The last time I saw wild horses was in New Zealand.  I hope to see those horses and lots of boats and ships that come in and out of the harbor.

Pilot in IJmuiden

This way.   Let me guide you.   I can see things you are too big to see.

I know we will go into the big city of Amsterdam.  YAY!  It was the first time I ever saw cars legally parked on a sidewalk.  Well, it would be considered a sidewalk here.  In Amsterdam, it’s a street.

amsterdam_canals

The trick is getting out of your car without falling in the canal.  Or in some cases, driving into the canal.  I’m sure it’s happened more than once.

When I was there with Big Sister Mia, we stayed at the Hotel Beethoven.  We picked it because the tram ran right in front of the building.  We went everywhere on that amazing rail system.  By the end of our stay, we actually figured out how to pay for our tickets properly.

Beethoven exterior

The elevator was so small our luggage did not fit with the two of us inside the car.  Mia and I rode up and then I went back down and brought up the luggage on a second trip.  We bought our daily snacks at a little market right across the street.  Urban living at its finest.

And yes, the coffee shops.  I tagged along the last time I was there.  I wanted to see it, and it was a lot more than I expected.  Menus are posted the same way menus are posted in independent coffee shops here.  The only difference is….they aren’t selling coffee.

Amsterdam-Coffee-Shop-Menu

So there you have it.  Or not.

With so much history and culture to experience there, I am amazed that Americans go there to get high.  Mia and I visited the Anne Frank house and ventured into the secret annex.  It was one of the most moving experiences of my life.

annexe 

To see this door was…..completely and totally heartbreaking.

I would like to see this again.   It helps us remember just how close we are to madness and how important it is to embrace what we do not understand.

I know the dreams of this trip will come soon…..filling my sweet unconscious mind with swirls of possibilities.  

18 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

18 responses to “Amsterdam On the Horizon

  1. goatbarnwitch

    I have a friend who is dutch and visits family there on a regular basis. I never get tired of the photos, such a beautiful place – windmills! He has actually jumped into the canals to retrieve lost items, the water is always very close but I don’t remember seeing cars parked like that in his photos.
    Can’t wait to hear about your adventure

  2. I’m so glad you’ll get the chance to visit the Netherlands. The photos alone are amazing – I can only imagine how utterly wonderful the experience will be for you!

  3. I can well imagine the “feeling” at the Anne Frank house…..I got very depressed at the Trail of Tears years ago where so many Indians were forced to march and died…same with The Alamo and Custer’s Last Stand and some Civil War battlesgrounds…..You can feel the spirits in all those places.

  4. Penny Tushingham

    I will be more excited when Montana is again on your horizon! But I know you’ll have a blast there!

  5. Ha ha – I’ve been there twice and still don’t know how to buy a tram ticket. No one seems to mind though. xx

  6. You are going to have a ball. Can you fit G and I into your pocket? When are you leaving? This is going to be way too much fun.

  7. Amsterdam is one city I have wanted to see since I read Hans Brinker some sixty years ago. That was written long before Anne Frank, whose house I hoped to see as well.

  8. bholles

    You will have such fun. Dont forget the Red Light District.

Leave a Reply

