Time to Make the Donuts

Captain’s Log  4,531

Nothing says it like a photo.  It’s the big festival that happens every year in the park.  About 60,000 people a night come and eat themselves sick as they walk around through throngs of people to visit all the museums for free.

crowd3

Not even close to fun for those of us who have to work this.  The event starts at 5:00, but we are not there by 2:30 or so, we cannot even get onto the grounds – even with our parking permits.  The traffic is just too heavy.

I start my day with a trip to see Joanie, Hairdresser Exceptionale.  Then, I am mailing off my soaps to points hither and yon and picking up a Santa costume.  If I am lucky, I will back home by 10:00 tonight.  And we get to do it all over again tomorrow!  But we have to put the exhibits back in order tomorrow night, so I won’t get home until around 11:00 or so.  

Looking for my Zen so I can keep it handy in my pocket.  Last year, almost 13,000 people came through our doors.  Most people are good about it.  Much better than the folks who come by on Freak Tuesday.  Many of those folks pull the old “I am a taxpayer in this town and I deserve blah blah blah from you people.”  Tonight’s crowd is there for fun – not to prove something.  That’s one good thing.

We bought all the food for tonight at Costco.  I stopped at Trader Joe’s and got $50 gift cards for everyone on my staff.  I’ll pass those out when we have our holiday dinner on the 17th of December.  

Guess I might as well face it.  Time to make the donuts!

18 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

18 responses to “Time to Make the Donuts

  1. Pamper yourself when you get home. You’ve earned it!!!

    I only get the “I’m a taxpayer” attitude when it comes to public lands, now that you have to pay to get out of your car and snap a picture if you’re driving through any so-called public lands. National forests are no longer available for hiking or other activities unless you pay blood money to them…

  2. Happy Hannukah to you dear you. The first of the Post Modernist soaps is out on display. I need to get a picture. Thank you again…see ya tonight.

  3. Donuts, OMG, real donuts. We will be there 2ish tomorrow. G thinks he will have to jackhammer me up the hill to the museum, but we will be there with bells on our toes. Smiling. Determinedly. A book in hand too.

    You have to be the best post-modernist soap maker in the world. So glad you are our friend. 🙂

  4. Wish the time would just fly by so you could be back home enjoying the silence…as much as possible. But maybe next year?

  5. That’s a really impressive gift to the community. I’m glad there are people who view it that way.

    I give you leave to hand my explanations for taxes to any smart aleck who thinks they are entitled because they pay taxes.

  6. I know this is a rough day for you, but what a wonderful way for the folks in SD to enjoy your great Balboa Park and its museums. Hang in there!

  7. Penny Tushingham

    If you don’t wear your watch or go outside at all, you won’t know what time it is or how much longer you have to go. If you don’t see the sun fall and darkness arrive, you won’t know what time it is. Might help get through the long hours!

  8. Joanie Benson

    A long day indeed. I’ll have to give you an extra-long head scrubbing to get you ready.

  9. It will a long day for you.

Leave a Reply

