Gratitude

Captain’s Log     4,516

It’s a day of thanks.  Every day should be a day of thanks, but hey…..this is the biggie when tons of people get onboard and say heartfelt things.

Here is my list.

I am thankful that my mother never overly-interfered with my life.  She let me fight my own battles.  She let me put on my own bandaids.  I made my own lunch.  She instilled in me a fierce sense of independence that I cherish.   She let me read whatever I wanted to read.  She never pried into my personal life.

I am thankful that I learned to drink water from a hose without fear of germs.

I am grateful that some of my ideas actually took shape.

I am grateful for my family and friends.

I am grateful my father encouraged me to sing and to develop my musical skills.

I am grateful for my sense of humor.

I am grateful that I worked on a tall ship for an entire year.

I am grateful that I comfortable with silence and solitude.

I am grateful for my birds.

I am grateful that I finally released my need to argue and make my point.  Most importantly, I am grateful that I no longer feel compelled to win.

I am grateful for all the beautiful places I have traveled.

I am grateful for the discipline I acquired to turn this online journal into a real body of work.

I am grateful for understanding that my life has meaning.

I am grateful for my flowers that give me so much joy.  And even though lantana is considered a noxious weed in certain parts of the world, I have a large hedge already growing on the side of the house and I planted more in the back.  

Also thankful for Ranger the iPhone who allows me to take such great photos without any effort

 

14 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

14 responses to “Gratitude

  1. Love your gratitude list, love you, do not love lantana to which I am violently allergic.

  2. And some of us are thankful for you 🙂

  3. Penny Tushingham

    I am grateful that my special friend Poola finally made it to Montana and got to enjoy some of our beauty!

  4. Joanie Benson

    Happy Thanksgiving, Paula. Hope you and Mia have a great day today. I loved your thankful list.

  5. George

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  6. jo

    How about roomie dogs and child unit? I know you did mean that also- Joanie,

Leave a Reply

