Time to Leave Already?

Captain’s Log    4,506

It’s over, and I am glad.  I am glad it’s over….and I am glad that reactionary conservatism was given the heave-ho.  I must admit that Romney was gracious in his concession speech.  Penny and I were watching the results on CNN and one of the commentators made a good point.  Romney has no job or goal now.  Ryan goes back into his government world.  I never thought about that whole phenomenon before.  I certainly don’t feel sorry for him – just an observation.  I’m sure he will think of something.

Yes, Obama won the big prize, but there were many others who stepped up and made a difference.  Tammy Duckworth of Illinois was elected – defeating an opponent who took issue with her war heroism.  He accused her of using it to further her campaign.  Don’t most people use something to further their campaigns?  Duh????

Tammy Duckworth is Asian, female, a decorated war hero…..and disabled.  I am glad she trounced her conservative white male opponent. 

Tammy Duckworth – the woman who shouldn’t have mentioned war heroism? 

My only hope is that the Republican party heard the clarion call of needed change.  Our society is EVOLVING, not going back to smoke signals and running messages to distant cities on foot.  Not hunting down and killing ideas we don’t understand.   I was pleased so see so many young voters taking an interest in the election.  People of color are stepping up.  Marriage equality was the big winner in four states.  Things are moving ahead quickly, and it’s time to find common ground with our neighbors.

I have been a filthy liberal hippie my entire life, and I will continue to do so.  I will continue to do my part to make sure we have a country that is safe and provides opportunties for everyone.  Change is evolutionary, not revolutionary.  Let’s all be patient with our president and ourselves as we listen to what the voters chose last night.  I have a few Republican friends and I cherish them because they respect me and my family.  That’s how we are going to move forward.  Respect.  Listening to the voices of those in need.  Not hanging chairs in effigy or working to make the rich richer.  That is not respect.  That is fear and greed.  Enough already.

Moving on.  I leave for San Diego in a few hours.  Not fair.  This trip has been more than wonderful!  Big storms are expected in Montana starting tomorrow.  As much as I would like to experience a true blizzard again, sitting on the patio with my hummingbirds seems great too.  But…..I most definitely WILL be back here!

 

12 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

12 responses to “Time to Leave Already?

  1. susanna

    You mean my trip to Montana is over! Dang.
    Can you believe San Diego elected a Democratic Mayor!! Yea.

  2. I’m sorry to hear your visit is drawing to a close. And like the rest of the world, I am beyond relieved that our election is over and decided to the side of reason. (Mostly. Sheriff Joe Arpaio was re-elected unfortunately, which rules out reason in Arizona.)

    Here’s hoping our next Presidential hopefuls include a woman. It would be even more refreshing to see representation that encompasses the true majority of our country. Because let’s face it: women have never been represented in equal measure at any level of government.

  3. For the first time in my voting life, I felt more relief that it was over than that most of my choices won. (All the Connecticut Congressional choices!)

    I am appalled that some candidates feel it is all right to damage our country to further their own goals.

  4. I’m glad this election is finally over, and I’m so glad that Obama was re-elected, and Elizabeth Warren, Claire McCaskill, and Tammy Duckworth were elected.

    Mostly, I wish the rigid ideologues (on whichever side) in Congress and elsewhere in the country would ease up and acknowledge that “compromise” is NOT a dirty word. Each of us has to give a little in order for anybody to get anywhere.

  5. Yes, we are really excited her. I noted that it was the central portion of our country that voted red, and Ronnie Bennett noted the color differeces in the audiences at the end of the vote. Romney’s supporters were very white, while Obama’s supporters came in all colors. Here the Mayoral race hasn’t been decided yet. Here too, G has a virulent case of the painful hives. Makes him a red skin.

Leave a Reply

