A Judge of Character

Captain’s Log   4,489

Sometimes, great online journalists say the best things.  Case in point are Margaret and Helen.  They are two feisty old ladies who have LOTS to say about the political scene.  They are funny, sarcastic, and filled with tons of truth.  Love them!  Here’s a sample:

I am just a dumb liberal who doesn’t watch Fox News and therefore hasn’t a clue.  You shouldn’t listen to me.

Instead you should listen to someone who really does know what is in Mitt’s heart.  Let me introduce you to the woman who has been washing his underwear for 43 years.   Well I am assuming that of course.  She could have outsourced the laundry duties. Ladies and gentlemen, I give you Ann Davies Romney:

 ”Mitt has always been a pro-life person, he governed, when he ran, uhmm,  as pro-choice…”

That would be an exact quote.  It gets a little complicated after that because Ann finds it hard to make that shit sound truthful, but basically she said that he was pro-life while he campaigned as pro-choice .  Then he got elected.  Once elected, Mitt realized that he couldn’t actually govern as a pro-choice because, in fact, he was pro-life.   So then, and only then, he let everyone know via an editorial in the newspaper that, in fact, he was exactly the opposite of what he campaigned.   He was Pro-No Choice. Of course, now he is back to needing women to vote for him so he is willing to be pro-choice-ish again.  It’s confusing, I know.  Ann has always had a problem separating her whites from her colors.

I don’t know how much more it takes to get people to realize that Mitt Romney is a buffoon!  And his statement that single parents are responsible for violence in this country?  What?  Whose son stated that he wanted to go up and punch the President?  Do you hear Obama’s kids running around saying they want to kick Mittens in the balls?  I think not!

I have been in many discussions with people about the candidates.  Some say it’s time for change.  That may be right, but consider the person you are choosing for the change.  Character and morality MUST enter into the picture.  If you have children and grandchildren, think about what’s best for them.  If those children are girls, please give some serious thought before you send them back into the Dark Ages without choices about their personal health matters.  Think about throwing them into a world without social programs to help those in need.  What message are we sending?  If this is indeed a “Christian” nation, those who claim that need to step up to the plate and let their actions speak louder than their words.

A man’s character is reflected in how he treats others.  I have no respect for Mitt Romney.  He is arrogant, self-serving, and cruel to animals.  Yes, I am profoundly disturbed with how he treated his poor dog when he strapped him to the roof of the car and drove 1,200 miles.  That kind of thoughtless behavior has no place in my life.  Granted, it was years ago, but he was an adult when he made that decision.

Beryl Markham, English adventurer and author (1902-1986) said it best.  You can easily judge the character of a man by how he treats those who can do nothing for him.

I doubt if Mitt Romney would have any compassion for the man or his dog.  I am proud to be voting for Mr. Obama.  

8 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

8 responses to “A Judge of Character

  1. After watching the recent debate and seeing how rude Romney was towards the moderator and the President, the lack of responding and answering questions from the audience and other behaviors; it left no doubt on who I wanted to vote for….and I did…on Wednesday.
    As for the previous blog….remember that parody I wrote….I just changed the words.
    DON’T LIE TO ME CONFEDERACY
    I TELL THE TRUTH BUT YOU WON’T HEAR IT.
    I HAD NEW IDEAS, DID EVENT PLANNING
    I BROUGHT THE CROWDS IN BUT YOU CONDEMNED ME……

    So, Karma is in the building. She has PMS and has entered Menopause…she is gathering strength and the storms are brewing….

  2. I voted yesterday. Guess what! I didn’t vote for Mittens. (are you surprised?)

  3. Well said, Poolie. Just the dog on the roof episode alone…he should be ashamed of himself!

  4. I do love Margaret and Helen. They really say what I am thinking.

    What has come to me most recently is that I know people who, when faced with a really messy task, would attempt to find a black person to do it. That serves two purposes: (1) they don’t have to get their own hands dirty, and (2) if it isn’t done well, they can blame it on race. I hope to Heaven that those people don’t vote.

Leave a Reply

