Contest Winners Announced!

Captain’s Log  4,478

And the winners are…………..

The I Think I Look Like Angela Lansbury With Fifty Shades of Grey contest  is now complete.  Thanks to everyone who voted.  If you are a winner, please email your snail mail address to me so I can send your prize!  poolagirl (at) aol dot com.

Here goes…..

Who best captured your imagination with the photo?

Diane!

Whose photo made you laugh like a loon?

Big Sister Mia!

Who would most likely win the heart of Christian Grey?  It’s a tie!

Joanie!

Terri!

Who is the bravest contestant?  Like this one is a surprise, eh?  LOL!

John!

Who should get the candy from Trader Joe’s?  This one was so very close.  There are multiple winners here.

Kathy!

Anna!

Sarah!

Herstory!

Mary Z!

A huge thank you for all who played along with this crazy idea.  It’s fun.  I love it!

Some of the other answers are:

I could not believe Poolie could be so smutty.

I love adventure.

Terri’s songs should be published.

The inner goddess activities that were #1 & #2 were buying a creme brulee torch and checking out Delta faucets.

The next contest ideas ranged from soup to nuts.  Halloween costume contests, caption contests…..you name it!  I am considering all ideas for another round of hoopla.

I had a little hoopla on Saturday.  Visiting Joanie, Hairdresser Exceptionale, is always fun.   I also MUST see her every four weeks because my hair grows so ridiculously fast.  Here is proof.  The photo on the left shows just how much my hair really does grow in a month.  She cuts my hair SHORT now.  And within a few days it already starts to look shaggy.

Wow!  Talk about tired eyes! Eeek!  Anyway…amazing difference in just 28 days.   I always get my money’s worth when Joanie cuts my hair.  There is enough hair on the floor to make a small dog.

It was quite a weekend.  I did a lot of landscaping.  I dug up bushes and planted trees and ornamental grass.  It was fun but I was exhausted.  I got a second wind yesterday after drinking a cool lime refresher thing from Starbucks.  It’s infused with green coffee extract and packs quite a punch.  Obviously.

Could have clipped hedges for hours yesterday

I face a busy week with evening meetings and early mornings.  The saving grace is dinner with friends on Tuesday.  Rain is on the way.  Thank goodness.  We have been at code red for fires for well over a month.  Moisture would be ever so welcome.  Maybe I will do a rain dance naked in the backyard tonight.  Febreze lady could have quite a time if I did something like that.  I can see it now.  A bottle of Febreze inching its way over the fence with a nasty little voice saying, “You dance!  Dance wrong!  Dance bad!  You dance!  Why you dance?”  Just like poppa from My Big Fat Greek Wedding thought Windex was the solution for everything, so does my neighbor with Febreze.  And so it goes.

24 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

24 responses to “Contest Winners Announced!

  1. jane

    I bought a Spotted Dick chocolate bar while in the UK. It was a gift so I didn’t get a chance to eat it!!

  2. Congratulations to all the winners! I’m so glad you did the contest – it was a blast to read.

  3. Great choices. 🙂 HurraH,.
    Yes, for some reason, we feel the same about dinner with friends. Have you been out to the Palomar College low water gardens? A low water front yard would get to Mrs. Febreeze. LOL

  4. Yeeeeeeee! Candy!! Thank you everyone for voting!!

  5. Linda aka Swabby

    How I envy your abundant crop of hair. I am going bald, which is not a good look for woman. Maybe you could send me your clippings and I could make a hair rug for the top of my head. By the way, you are pretty scary with those clippers. Maybe you could make an appearance and scare the Fabreeze lady away for good.

  6. Mia

    It was a fun contest. Sorry I didnt win any candy. Maybe you can buy me a can of spotted dick.

  7. Joanie Benson

    Thank you. Thank you very much. Now go fix me a double martini with extra olives…and make it snappy! (I’ve really gotten into this, haven’t I!)

  8. Thank you…I am honored to be in the company of such awesome women and a man who has bravery to venture into the hormonal arena!

  9. SQUEEEEEE!!!! Just toooooo excited ! (can you tell I never win ANYTHING?!) Thanks so much s x

  10. Great fun in the contest! I won’t be reading the book, but now I don’t have to – since I read your version.

    I love the haircut. We’ve got you beat on timing, though. We go every three weeks (when we’re in town).

  11. When I used to sweep up cat hair, I would say I had enough to knit another cat. I don’t do fine work any more, as I can’t focus on it. Good thing, or we would have even more food for the coyote.

Leave a Reply

