TGIF

Captain’s Log  4,475

I went to Escondido last night to visit a friend of mine in the hospital.  It’s quite a jaunt, but I was glad to do it.  The hospital is brand new and out in the middle of nowhere, but I managed to find it on the first try WITHOUT the GPS activated on my phone.  I was using my hunting skills and looked for the blue H and the arrows.  Once I got there, I was blown away.

Palomar Medical Center – looks like an expensive resort – and yes, those are balconies on each room

It’s one of the new skilled facilities where all the rooms are private, there aren’t visiting hours, guests can spend the night on the sleeper sofa at no extra charge, flat screen TV, meals whenever you want them 24/7.  I was impressed.  While she was on the phone talking to her father, I arranged some flowers that someone had brought as a simple, uninteresting bundle.  My good knife was in the car, so I used a butter knife from her meal tray.  I didn’t get very clean cuts but the flowers looked a lot better.

I came home to the pups and had a nice quiet evening eating leftovers and reading books and magazines.  The pups have adjusted to their “mommies” being gone and are now following me everywhere instead of waiting at the door.  They are so sweet!  They helped me feed the birds this morning and now they are helping me write this.  They are guarding my thoughts and ideas.  Good doggies!

The exhibit opens this morning.  I am meeting a film crew from Italy and then taking off to deliver a speech at the local high school.  Then, I am coming home.  I have had quite enough fun for one week – thank you very much.  It’s spa day tomorrow with Joanie and then hang-out day with Big Sister Mia.  I hope to meet up with a friend on Sunday for a drive to the mountains for breakfast.  For those of you who have been on that trip with me, it’s the Julian Cafe.

Lots of rusty stuff hanging on the walls in Julian at 4,235 feet.  It’s also apple season.  We might have to have a piece of pie!

Maybe we should just have pie for breakfast.  Makes sense.  It’s fruit!

Four weeks from today I will be on my way to Helena, Montana!  YAY!  How timely is that?  A nice break before the craziness of the winter holidays.  There are huge changes around the corner in 2013 too.  It’s all good.

I need to get myself ready to face the morning.  Because that’s all I intend to face today.  I plan to spend the afternoon digging up bushes in the front yard.  Making cha-cha-changes!

14 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

14 responses to “TGIF

  1. Yes, breakfast pie. Yes, you should avoid Julian. You can buy the pies locally. Reading on……..

  2. Enjoy your apple-pie breakfast; sounds wonderful!!! And a trip to Montana sounds a bit chilly but otherwise I bet you enjoy the heck out of it.

  3. Maryz

    Our CA gals love Julian. We love Montana. In Buffalo airport heading home.

  4. Say Hello to the girl in the ladies’ room. I still think about that portrait! And the food and the atmosphere and the fun we had at the cafe…..I hope the leaves are gorgeous on your little vacation…..we have a few pretty maples here but most of the leaves are just falling off due to the long hot dry summer we had.

  5. That is such a lovely facility that your friend is in! And balconies! That means that fresh air can actually make its way into a patient’s room-a sweet breeze on a fevered brow can help anyone feel better.

  6. Penny Tushingham

    Yep, one month today, Poolie will be here in the mountains! Can’t wait!
    Pen Pen

  7. bholles

    You should have fun in Julian. It is their apple pie festival this weekend.

Leave a Reply

