Hallelujah

Captain’s Log  4,491

Three days of work this week and then…………..

Time for merriment!

Since this is the biggest wing-ding for me until the winter holidays, I had better make good use of my time.

I already have my Via Starbucks coffee, Mini-Moo things for the coffee, charged up Kindle, money, clean clothes.  The only thing left to put in the bag is the sense of adventure.  Not a problem.   We are going to get wild at the Neil Diamond concert!  Watching Big Sister Mia leap around is worth the price of admission alone.  Wonderful time!

I spoke with Amy in Canada last night and we discussed the possibility of me spending some time there too.  One cannot have too many trips planned.  Since traveling is the only thing that keeps me centered, it’s important that I do that as much as possible.

I learned “Hallelujah” on the piano yesterday.  I have always loved that song but could never figure out the progressions.  I sat down at the piano yesterday and found the pesky B chord – the missing link.   Having that figured out will make it simple to re-key it for my own voice, etc.  Music is all math.  I learn by looking at the intervals.  Show me how to play – don’t tell me.  And for God’s sake, don’t expect me to read music.

K.D. Lang is one of the finest vocalists ever.  I first heard her at the Winnipeg folk festival when she was signing Patsy Cline songs with her band.  She was amazing then and is even more amazing now.  A Canadian treasure.

She’s changed a bit since then.

So, now I am all inspired.  Good thing for a Monday.

20 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

20 responses to “Hallelujah

  1. I love K.D. Lang! And I once was a Neil Diamond fan. But he was a guest singer on American Idol last season and his voice is shot. He can’t hit any high notes and he almost sounds like he’s talking instead of singing. I don’t want to rain on your parade, but it is what it is.

  2. KD Lang does that piece proud.

    And for the record, I can read music. Doesn’t mean I have your pure, raw talent in my hands. You are amazing.

  3. jett

    Good but no one beats Leonard Cohen on this one 🙂

  4. maryz

    You will still be in SD on Wednesday, right? I’m hoping to call or drop in sometime late morning/early afternoon.

  5. K.D. Lang is absolutely my favorite singer of this song…I get chills everytime I hear her….Of course, when you put out your video….I imagine it will be just as good.

  6. Damn, I’ll borrow my daughter’s computer later so I can hear Hallelujah. What went through my mind was:

    Hallelujah, bananas,
    Oh, bring back my bonny to me.

    I think you may be a little young for that one. Of course music is math. I learned that, ooh, longer ago than I care to tell you. And I can read music.

  7. Mia

    Dont forget your money for the slot machines.

  8. betty boop

    love K.D. and LOVE the song. i have goosies on my arm listening to that song. Also, i have seen Neil Diamond several times in concert. he is awesome. you are going to have a blast. and the MGM grand is a great place for a concert.

Leave a Reply

