Monday Monday Monday – Monday

Captain’s Log   4,484

It’s Monday and still scorching.  Wildfires have already started in the mountains.  It should be quite a season.  The fires of 2003 and 2007 did so much damage.

Cedar Fire of 2003.  The county burned for over a week.  29,000 acres burned.  2,232 homes destroyed.  12 deaths.  The first person to die was the estranged husband of a friend of mine.  He was trying to drive out of a burning canyon and never made it.

Witch Fire of 2007.  That was the year over 1,000,000 people were evacuated.  Many of them ended up at Qualcomm Stadium.  Since the museum was closed, a co-worker and I volunteered some time there sorting donated toys.  55,000 people camped out in the parking lot.  Truly incredible.

Things were very well-organized.  Walmart stepped up big time and donated truckloads of chairs and blankets.  The trucks would arrive and people could just go take what they needed.  Costco donated pizzas non-stop around the clock.

Water station at Qualcomm.  All volunteers.

Fires here are very, very scary.  I used to think how wonderful it would be to live in the rustic mountains an hour out of the city.  I don’t think that anymore.  Most of the fires start out there and move toward the coast.  Not a great place to be living – directly in the path.

I think about fire a lot.  Fire has burned buildings in the park before.  The museum sits on the edge of a canyon/roadway.  There is a homeless encampment just down the hill, and that concerns me.  Especially when it’s so hot and dry.  

So I will spend today trying to think of more pleasant things.  I have two meetings and a luncheon.  After work, I am meeting with a small theatre group to discuss how I can help them with their marketing and publicity.  They have two shows under their belts and are ready for the next step.  Should be fun.  I desperately need a creative outlet.

So it’s off to the races!

16 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

16 responses to “Monday Monday Monday – Monday

  1. goatbarnwitch

    I hope the weather gets wetter so fire isn’t such a worry. Sounds like the theater group could be a fun outlet for you 🙂

  2. Wonderful idea. How great. Theater troups are coming out of the woodwork, and you will be the best thing since slice white bread. Yes, that top shot says it all. Where did you find it.

  3. I hope your fire worries are put out by rain – in reasonable doses. Optimism isn’t a dirty word 🙂

  4. I hope there won’t be fires this season but I know that is a nearly impossible dream.
    I bet you are going to be very involved with that theater group….and it may be your next big endeavor…..

  5. Maryz

    Well,phooey! You’re telling me we’re going from fires near Lassen NP this week to fires near S D next week??

  6. Penny Tushingham

    Yes fire can be very scarey. But I lived in the trees on a mountain top for 18 years and miss it now. It’s the price I paid for 30 miles views 365 days a year.

  7. The theater group sounds like your style. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

