Bad Sports to Ayn Rand – What a Journey

Captain’s Log  4,472

I’ve been watching a fair amount of the Olympics.   It’s amazing to see all those athletes together in one place.  They are supposed to bring the world together in a atmosphere of companionship – blah blah blah.  Cut through the crap and the truth is obvious.  They all want to win.  And when they don’t win, some of them do NOT demonstrate reactions that we can be proud of.  

Bad sport or just truly disappointed?

I would think that athletes at this level would have the composure necessary to man-up or woman-up on the podium.  Or do we place too much emphasis on winning and pay little or no attention to how to respond with a graceful loss?

When I was a child, I had a friend who was SOOO angry when he lost that we tended to let him win everything because we couldn’t handle his bad reactions.  It was easier for us to just let him win.  It kept the peace.  What a horrible situation!  I’ve known people who won’t even try anything because “What if I am no good at it?”  I knew people in college who took the easiest courses they could find so they could maintain a high GPA.  What is that all about?  Is the fear of losing that powerful?

The act of sulking just screams NOTICE ME!  NOTICE ME!  Imagine what this darling child will be like in a few more years?

And sometimes, athletes are just stupid.  What was the family of the judo guy, Delpopolo, thinking when they cooked up some marijuana brownies and served them – right before the Olympics?  How fookin’ stupid are these people?  And he’s pretty stupid too by contending that he didn’t know he ate one.  MOST people know when they have ingested such a thing.  How could he NOT know?  If you can’t even take a fookin’ SUDAFED, why on earth would marijuana be okay?  I checked.  It clearly states that marijuana and hashish are BANNED.  I do not feel sorry for this guy because he is making up a big fat story that he didn’t know.  Of COURSE he knew!

I had to be drug tested so I could mystery shop a local chain of grocery stores, fer crissakes!  I was also randomly drug tested when I worked on the ship.  If you are in an arena where drugs are forbidden, don’t do them!  How hard is that?

I suppose these things are easy for me to say because I don’t do drugs.  Except for an occasional dosing of Advil about twice a month and an occasional beer, I am not part of that cultural experience.  It’s like any other choice I have made.  There are things I do and things I do not do.  I don’t eat meat or believe in guns or hunting either.  And that’s the way it is.  My job is so demanding that I need my wits sharp at all times.  When I get called by the alarm company to deal with a problem at the museum at 2:00 in the morning, I need to be ready to go.

I just read this and it sounds like I am preaching.  Sorry.  I started out with thoughts about graceful competition and I segued into banned drugs.  Funny how that happens.

On a different note……

I am re-reading Atlas Shrugged as a feeble attempt to understand the Republican party.  Paul Ryan stated that “Ayn Rand more than anyone else did a fantastic job of explaining the morality of capitalism, the morality of individualism.”  I find that very enlightening – the morality of capitalism.  How to explain it?  Even bad morality is morality.   When capitalism becomes the god, a quasi-religion is bound to develop, a religion based on the tenets of greed.  Mitt Romney is a classic example of this.  Make the most for ME regardless of the harm that may cause anyone else.  I prefer to call that the “Throw Your Own Mother Under the Bus” spirituality.

But what about people who do good for others?  Some would argue that they only do that to fill their OWN need of being of service to others.  If you believe that, you must then also believe that nobody is intrinsically good…..that every motivation is ego-based.  And on and on…..

I have not had nearly enough coffee to debate the concept of intrinsic altruism.  I just believe that altruism is the missing gene from most Republican DNA.  They are out to save themselves and grow themselves into more power and wealth ever imagined.  As the gap between the haves and the have nots widens, this is not difficult to understand.  No wonder Ayn Rand is still considered such a hero.

This is her philosophy (Objectivism) in a nutshell.  No wonder people debate the shit out of it.

From Wikipedia…..

Objectivism’s central tenets are that reality exists independent of consciousness, that human beings have direct contact with reality through sense perception, that one can attain objective knowledge from perception through the process of concept formation and inductive logic, that the proper moral purpose of one’s life is the pursuit of one’s own happiness (or rational self-interest), that the only social system consistent with this morality is full respect for individual rights embodied in laissez faire capitalism, and that the role of art in human life is to transform humans’ metaphysical ideas by selective reproduction of reality into a physical form—a work of art—that one can comprehend and to which one can respond emotionally.

All righty then, Miss Rand.  I’ll save that for another time.

32 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

32 responses to “Bad Sports to Ayn Rand – What a Journey

  1. I’m playing catch up obviously – and you’re right on target, as usual. Pouting is never attractive, at any age. That goes for Dangerspouse too.

  2. I can’t believe it has been an entire week since I read one of your blogs…and now I am so mentally tired that I can’t make much sense of any of it except to agree with you in nearly every way….ok…in EVERY way. I will be back to reread when I have enough brain cells functioning again.

  3. For an interesting take on the Federal Reserve and Ayn Rand, read Griftopia by Matt Taibbi. Scary!

  4. That girl in the first picture ( I forget her name) WAS indeed a sore loser. She screwed up – it’s as simple as that!! But hell, she earned a silver medal in the Olympics!!!! Crack a fooking smile!!!!

  5. I can’t believe you are reading that garbage. I see you are right on top of it too. LOL

  6. Did you see the American gymnast — male — who knew he would not win but enthusiastically greeted and congratulated every opponent as they finished their stint? He could have been Mr. Congeniality.

  7. What an ugly kid! Where the hell did you find a picture like that? The poor parents….

Leave a Reply

