Blade Runner

Captain’s Log  4,470

Based on yesterday’s entry, I don’t think my parenting ideas would have gone over too well with the current culture.

My motto(s) is(are)….. DO IT AND DO IT NOW!  BECAUSE I SAID SO.  YOU ARE SIXTEEN.  GET YOUR FOOKIN’ DRIVER’S LICENSE, FER CRISSAKES!

That should be enough, don’t you think?

I never made it to JHE’s salon yesterday.  She called and told me someone had stolen the copper plumbing and they had no water!  Holy mommacita!  Fortunately, she was able to re-schedule for today.  I don’t think I have ever had my hair cut on a Sunday before.  I had gum taken out of my hair on a Saturday night once.  I was probably 16 years old and I thought it would be a fine idea to stick my gum behind my ear when I took a hot bath.  Hot bath.  Steamy room.  Melted gum.  The harder I tried to remove it, the worse it got.  I don’t think I have ever seen my mother so angry at 10:00 PM on a Saturday.  Her hairdresser was one of her best friends.  Not sure if that made it better or worse.

Off topic.

How can people be so horrendous to even THINK of challenging Oscar Pistorius for competing in the Olympics on prosthetic legs!  Can you believe that?  People actually challenged it on the premise that he has an “unfair advantage” because the blade legs are springy.  WTF?  The man has no fookin’ LEGS!  I watched him run last night and I cheered.  I was home alone and I stood up in my living room and cheered.  Scared the dogs but they forgave me.

Go Oscar!

Just like people complain about Gabby’s hair or the fact that she thanked God instead of her family, coaches, trainers, etc.  Shut up!  These Olympics are NOT about you!  Surprise!

Off to see Joanie.  I am in charge of muffins.  We’ll see which one of us has the emotional intelligence to eat the muffin top last.  News at 11:00.

 

15 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

15 responses to “Blade Runner

  1. Joanie benson

    Well, I guess I lost THAT challenge. Did you ever see a muffin top dissappear so fast? Without Spanx?

  2. Our first 5 kids were born on SAturdays so they all had their 14th birthdays on Friday – the only day of the week the driver’s license bureau is open for our county. We loved their getting licenses to be able to drive to school and to school functions as we lived 7 miles out of town and they could drive the tractors and pickups for 2 years before they started driving the car. No lessons needed – no driver’s ed – just get behind the wheel and drive to town to mom and dad can stay home and take care of the kids there! If we had lived in a city, I would not have wanted them to drive until they were no longer under our supervision – now they are not sure they want US driving in the cities so once we get there they do it all — our car and our gas, of course – we are, after all, mom and dad and “money isn’t important”. Hah! If they only knew how much of their potential inheritance is being burned up on the road!

  3. Geezer

    Not real sure of my parenting skills either. There is a reason duct tape was invented.

  4. Delightful nosh, another one to add to my list of neighborhood breakfast joints. How ever is she going to get her plumbing rebuilt by hair time. Tell all soon please DL: at 15 and 1/2 then watch me drive my grandfather to church. LOL

  5. I think I wrote a post once about the importance of “Because I said so.”

    But “get your driver’s license”? No, I grew up with “you may not.” My kids grew up with “when you can afford the insurance.” They all got their licenses in their early twenties; my middle daughter got it without any assistance from me. For the record, I got my driver’s license when I was 37, but I had a good example; my mother got hers when she was 63.

    • poolagirl

      I got mine on my 16th birthday so I no longer relied on my parents for transportation. I also ran errands. Very important tool.

      • We did walk a lot. (MD needed a license when I could no longer get her from work, as buses didn’t travel to our street past 6:00 p.m.) Our town has over 50K people, but it’s only ten miles, so the center of town, where Son, MD, and I worked (until MD got a better job) was only a mile or two away.
        Like my mom said, we didn’t get our licenses until we could afford the overpriced insurance.

Leave a Reply

