July Photo Challenge Completed

Captain’s Log  4,465

Mock if you must, but potato tacos are the most amazing things ever!  Ever!

The best of four worlds.  Corn tortillas, potatoes, cheese, guacamole.

I’m not much of a foodie, but these take my breath away.  Then again, Rice Krispies do too.   When I hear about people spending hours cooking something or spending oodles of money on a dinner at a place like Ruth’s Chris (about $40 for a steak), I just have to wonder what those people are thinking!  For $40, I can get 20 b0xes of toasted rice cereal at Trader Joe’s OR 40 potato tacos.  The choice is obviously clear.

I worked all day without even a five minute stop for food, so I was in desperate need of potato tacos last night.  I did NOT want to fuss making myself food.  I wanted someone else to do it and I wanted unlimited soda to go with it.  That meant a trip to the nearest hole-in-the-wall.  Fortunately, there are a lot of those in San Diego.  I think we might be the only city with more taco shops than Starbucks.

I finished my July Photo Challenge.  You are supposed to shoot a photo every day (on a given theme) and then post it on Facebook.  I changed things up and put them into a slide show instead.  Here goes.

That was really, really fun!  There is a challenge for the month of August if anyone is interested in playing along.  Here are the “assignments.”

Try it!  You might like it!

What I like about the challenge is that it lets you think outside the box.  Some people need a push in that direction.  I intend to have some fun with #4 on the list.

The biggest win yesterday was getting the Confederacy signed up with the city again for another 25 years.  Certain people said it couldn’t be done.  It took me all of an hour to do this…..by simply coming forth with the truth about our failure to produce certain things per the original agreement.   Those who came before me simply ignored the obvious and hoped that the city wouldn’t notice that we had not built a secondary structure/addition.  To do that now would cost about $20 million dollars.  I was told that saving money is the same as raising it.  In essence, by getting us off the hook for that building, I am probably the biggest default fundraiser the Confederacy has ever had!    Okay then!  I want a prize, dammit!

Fat chance of that.

I am learning that excellence is its own reward.

So I have an excellent idea that I am going to develop.  Teaser……  a road trip that would take at least 2 months to complete.  I have nothing to lose and everything to gain by putting this together and submitting it to a corporation with more money than God – a corporation that could use some brass polish for its somewhat tainted image.  

11 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

11 responses to “July Photo Challenge Completed

  1. What intriguing photos. Beautiful, naturally, but also a few thought provoking. This month’s challenge should include taking a photo and writing a story based not on its real origin but the story its image invokes your imagination.

    For example, the chair in front of the bookshelves. Is it the chair left empty when a beloved librarian seemingly drops off the face of the earth? Does it signify the fact that in a world where literacy is available for the taking, we as a nation have walked away and left the written word to turn to dust? Is it the mystery of a ghost who appears at odd moments in the chair, runs a pale hand along the spines and then wafts off on the mist? Is it emptied from a child whose whole world was restricted by physical disability but who has been cured and is now out in the sunshine living life rather than reading about it?

    So many possibilities!

  2. OKOK, you leave us dangling again. Is the Confederacy the museums, have you resigned, have you signed the papers. I’m just going to poke the elephant in the living room here to see if you bite. And I would make it a private note, but that isn’t a feature that WordPress offers.

  3. Edie

    You talents never cease to amaze me. Thanks for sharing.

  4. I love your pics – they make a great slide show. I’m in for August xxx

Leave a Reply

