This Journal is 9 Years Old Today!

Captain’s Log  4,458

Happy 9th journal birthday to me!

Nine years ago today I sat in front of a computer screen – aimless and unemployed.  So I thought I would give online writing a chance.  Now, after almost 400 entries a year (average) and  over 1,000,000 words, I am still doing this.  Who would have ever thought?

Since that time, I have done the following things……..

worked as a statistical analyst (cripes)

bought my first ever brand new car (a total surprise)

learned to sail a boat (lifelong dream)

delivered flowers (it paid the bills)

worked on a tallship  (left a well-paying job to do it)

ran (run) a museum  (not what I ever imagined)

wrote and directed two musicals  (where I felt most at home)

discovered geocaching  (fabulous adventure without the danger)

ran a youth program  (attempt to resurrect what had been a miracle – failed)

traveled to Canada, Georgia, Nevada, Iowa, Missouri, Indiana, Arkansas, Oklahoma, Texas, New Mexico, Illinois, Pennsylvania, Nebraska, Colorado, Alabama, Michigan, and Arizona  (always itchy feet)

moved  (better house, smaller house, and no rats or intrusive crows)

There must be more things but these are all I can think of right now.  I also witnessed two friends write and publish books, and that’s the kicker.  That remains the largest hole – the biggest challenge for me.  Certain things need to fall into place first.  The biggest factor is uninterrupted time.  I think 4-5 hours a day would be good, but that is not happening now.  I hit my creative peak around 9:00 in the morning.  Guess what I am doing about that time five days a week?  Weekends simply don’t work.  Too much to do and too many social things going on.

But in spite of that mountain I have yet to conquer, looking back has certainly been interesting.   I learned a lot about who I am and what works for me.  As I get older, I find myself less interested in pleasing others.  I can only imagine what this will be like in another 20 years.

People often ask me why I do this whole journal thing.  It has become a practice that feeds my soul.  It took about six months to work into the habit of writing daily, but then…..it stuck.  On the days I don’t write, I feel adrift and somewhat misguided.  Something is missing.

I face another week at the Confederacy – but it’s a short one.  I am spending Friday with the Highway 80 team – working on our geocaching project.  I live for days off, and that is not a good sign.  I need to start this day checking on the bees.  They started work after hours yesterday.  I fear this is going to be a very involved process.

36 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

36 responses to “This Journal is 9 Years Old Today!

  1. Happy belated blog birthday! I’m so happy to have gotten to you through it. Here’s to many more blogging years!

  2. Susanna

    Dang, a day late in my congrats to you but I count myself lucky to be on your daily email list from the get-go. It has been nothing but joy opening your diary, knowing there will be great stories, graphics, videos, pictures, heart and soul and the best of the best…laughs that have given me stomach aches. Could anything be better! You rock my friend and I am honored to say friend!

  3. Happy Blogirthday! I’ve been reading you since the beginning? Get out!

  4. jane

    Since discovering your blog I’ve enjoyed my visits. Sharing an interest in geocaching makes for an enjoyable read! Congratulations on all your achievements!

  5. Happy bloggiversary! I’m delighted to be one of your long-term readers; blame Dangerspouse, who introduced me to your writing. It says a lot about you that you have a handful of readers who HAVE followed you for roughly nine years!

  6. annanotbob

    Happy bloggiversary! Thank you for keeping going, sharing yourself so generously. Your good spirit leaps off the screen and into my life. And yes – BEES! Yikes! xx

  7. All these years and bees too. Mr. G says those bees will keep you honest.

  8. Happy Blogiversay! Glad to know you. Thanks for all the laughs and wisdom. You enrich my life and that’s the truth.

  9. I do remember one of the first blogs of yours that I read. I was so impressed with your words and your viewpoints. Lots of things have changed since that day but I still feel the same way about you…..well…I feel even more close to you now than I did then. Forever friends……! When we met in real life; it was like I found another sister….and even better….I met her sister Mia too!

  10. “9 Years Before the Mast(head)”.

    “9 YEARS BEFORE THE MAST(HEAD)”.

    C’mon, let’s hear it. That may be the wittiest thing either of us has ever written in this journal. Right? Right?

    So why didn’t YOU think of it, after 400 entries and a million freakin’ words. Huh, Matey?

    Oh well. Hope you have at least 9 more years in you. You’ll need it if you want to get even close to my level stupid seafaring literature references. Which I assume every girl wants (although I’ve been wrong about what girls want before).

    Congrats 🙂

  11. joaniebenson

    Not only have you fed your own soul, you’ve fed mine daily for the last 9 years, as your postings are are not only funny and entertaining but also so often food for serious thought for me and I’m sure for many of your other readers. Some have even made me change my mind about some things, and that’s not easy to do! The most important thing that I have learned from you is that there is always more than one way of looking at things and to be compassionate and understanding of people who have different points of view while still holding on to my own convictions, which is a very important lesson. Knowing you personally has been a blessing in my life that has been too often unspoken. I always look forward not only to seeing you every few weeks when your hair needs attention, but to your postings every morning on my computer, which I can always count on to be inspiring or make me smile. So many times Dave will say, “what’s so funny??” and usually it’s when I’m reading your journal, which, by the way is the only one one I read. Congratulations on your 9 years of wonderful contribution to all of us who are lucky enough to read you.

  12. Ter

    Happy bloggiversary! (I’m an English teacher; I said it, therefore it’s a word!). While I haven’t been along for the whole ride, my leg of the journey has been inspiring, comforting, encouraging, and just a straight up plain joy. Keep writing & I’ll keep reading! The Cap Region of NY is always lovely ::hinthint::

  13. #1. Happy Anniversary!!
    #2. I can’t remember where you were in your life’s journey when I came aboard, but I do know that I’ve been a daily reader since the first day I was lucky enough to find you. Even my husband knows who Poolie is!
    #3. Jeeezus, look at those bees!!!!

  14. We’d certainly welcome you in Tennessee!

  15. Yes, an online journal feeds the soul. (Even an offline journal does that!0 You write about four times as many posts as I do — and if you aren’t there, I miss you.
    I know it will all fall into place. Happy jouralversary!

  16. Penny Tushingham

    I hope a visit to Montana is on your bucket list in the future.

Leave a Reply

