Am I Finally Smart Enough?

Captain’s Log  4,420

Where’s my Zen?  Thank goodness for the support of friends.  That’s all I can say right now.    I am surrounded by rude fools who care not for how anyone is treated, especially me.  People are merely numbers.  Vision is all about money.  I am so sick I could puke.  I was treated like a paid house slave yesterday, so I packed up my things and left.  Out the door.  I could not bear it another minute.  I apologized for my failure to hide behind a mask of indifference and pretending the farce being played out before my eyes did not bother me.

I can so relate!

Joanie, Hairdresser Exceptionale,  knew I was upset and called to invite me out for lunch.  Potato tacos with a good friend is a nice way of putting priorities in order.   The cage has been rattled.  I hold the key.  Every day I get closer to actually putting it in the lock to set myself free.

There are good people in all of this, but they are vastly overshadowed by the strong wills of a few.  A smart person knows when’s she’s beat.  I hope I am smart.

29 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

29 responses to “Am I Finally Smart Enough?

  1. Don’t let the bullies get you down. A hissy fit, bad behavior, asshole episode can only be successful if two participate. There is a time to look at them like they are aliens and then there is a time to walk away. I hope you are in a place to decide which is best for you.

  2. I am so very sorry. Your load may be lighter, but we will miss you on Saturdays. Many hugs.

  3. It constantly amazes me, this..thing does. People who need one, depend on one to get the job done but still, they treat one abusively. It happens so often, and yet I am still amazed!!! I “quit” Orkplace periodically, which means I start cleaning out my desk. “What’s up with Fifi?” “Oh, she’s quitting again…” In my case, though, I can always see a good, legitimate reason to stay. I’ve been very fortunate in that I have been able to resolve all my issues, although not always as quickly as I’d like. SO I am wishing you the best in your quest for freedom. XOFifi

  4. Edie

    Thinking of you at this time….

  5. Do you mean to say you LEFT your job? As in quit?

  6. *Hugs* I wish I could offer some sage advice. Better yet, I wish I could be there to commiserate in person and make you real mashed potatoes with lemon meringue pie for dessert. Guess I have to settle for just hoping that you can hang on a little longer. It truly can be the darkest before the dawn, and you’re way past due for some sunshine in your life.

  7. annanotbob

    xxxxxxx

  8. Seems like the perfect book title for whatever it is you’ve become mired in. Just remember that Toole *didn’t* smarten up for all his brilliance, and committed suicide after writing the manuscript. Don’t let that happen to you.

    Unless of course, like Toole, you leave behind a brilliant unpublished manuscript that I then find, have published, and win a Pulitzer in your stead. Then, you have my blessing.

    But barring that, I hope your smarts serve you better than his did him.

    Rough seas call for strong drink. Might wanna try that too, matey. Hang in there.

  9. Sorry that life is pooping on your parade. Hope it gets better.

  10. The quote is priceless. We’ve had a bout of that today too. You are smart enough, doubly so because you are dealing with fools who don’t know what they could lose.

  11. KJ

    ((((HUGS)))))) my darlin’

  12. Oh dear. I don’t know what happened, but it must have been something to get you this rialed up! Thank goodness for friends and potato tacos, even though that sounds like lefse to me! 😉

Leave a Reply

