Coming to Terms

Captain’s Log  4,414

Several months ago, I carried on about people who whine in their journals.  We all deserve a good whine now and then, and as long as we don’t make a habit of it, all is well.  I have reached my limit on a few issues, and a good whine is most definitely in order.  So here goes.  Whine.  Whine.  Whine.

I work with the biggest bunch of whiny babies on the planet.  I swear to God!  They are almost to the point of running to me and saying shit like, “She looked at me!” or “He didn’t say goodbye when he left yesterday!”  I don’t understand this. I don’t understand why people cannot take responsibility for their own feelings.  Nobody is being victimized because of their race, gender, age, etc.  This is all so damn childish I want to scream!  And they are doing this right before performance evaluations and raises.  That’s like acting up before Santa Claus comes down the chimney.  STOOPID!

I fired off an email last night to the two biggest offenders to explain why I am no longer going to tolerate their shit.  I explained in very nice terms that if they are not part of the solution, they are part of the problem.  If they cannot come to me with a solution, I don’t want to hear the complaint.  My challenge to them was stated as “What are YOU going to do to fix this?”  I also said I was disappointed with their lack of gratitude for things the museum is providing for them.  A fair wage, benefits, and the freedom to set their own schedule and work hours.  I even allow people to work from home if the need is there.  I bend over backwards to make their jobs easy and fun, and I am rewarded with nothing but crap.  I am not their mother and I am not their kindergarten teacher.  I am not responsible for their happiness.

When can I retire?  Seriously.  I am no longer interested in fixing things I never broke.  My heart, soul, whatever can only handle so much.  If I am going to give out so much emotional energy, I would like to see something in return.  Perhaps it’s best if I leave the museum and spend that energy on something with a positive return.  I could finally write that book that’s been in the creative queue for so long.  I could travel.  I could volunteer where my time is appreciated.  I could find a geocache a day.  I could find someone to go sailing again.  I could paint furniture again or make wooden fences into wall sculptures.  I could do mosaic again.  Designing the perfect finch feeder.  Reading in the middle of the day because I can.  Play day gigs with Frank again because I have the time.  So many things.

I know that one of the challenges of retirement is finding something to “go to.”  People who retire without a plan for what’s next often become reclusive and unchallenged.  I cannot imagine anything worse than that.  I’ve been uneasy with all of this for quite some time.  I certainly don’t want to make any rash decisions.

When I was younger, I loved working so much I could not imagine not having a job.  How that perspective has changed.  What’s truly meaningful keeps floating past your thoughts and feelings – all day long.  Sometimes constantly.

The decision is blatantly obvious.  It’s all in the timing. Turning the corner too fast isn’t always the wisest thing to do.

16 Comments

Filed under Captain Poolie's observations

16 responses to “Coming to Terms

  1. susanna

    I think your to do list for your retirement is amazing. No stagnation there.
    The book, the many books, I’m waiting for them.

  2. George

    You want some cheese with that whine?

  3. If you have the luxury of retiring, why on earth would you balk?

  4. When the job is sucking the LIFE out of you; it is time to go. Somedays I think I haven’t accomplished any more than getting out of bed and dressed. Other days I am busy ~ it’s all in what you want to do that day…that’s the glory of retirement.

  5. It’s a burn-out job; some jobs are like that. You have to be truly dedicated — and you can’t be the only dedicated one — to stay in a place like that.

    Possibly the scariest thing — jobwise — that I ever did was to leave the Red Cross. If the politics were good, you might survive to retire at 65, with a pension that paid peanuts. It’s hard to decide to go, but I’m glad I did.

  6. Yes, get them to fix them while not taking anything they say personally.

    I’ll go sailing.
    Mosaics? What fun.
    Food? Yes! Retirement is fun.

  7. Joel

    Retirement is on your terms. You can be as busy, or as calm as you choose. People ask me what do I do with all my spare time, I answer, “When I get some spare time, I will let you know.” The difference between working busy and retire busy, retirement busy you can choose where you want to spend your time. You are free. I am still very busy with the church audio and video, which keeps my mind active. Active mind and body are so important.

Leave a Reply

